Daniel Hemric was handed an L1 penalty after Bristol; The next day it was reversed
NASCAR has post-race tolerances for cars in the field. At Bristol Motor Speedway they inspected 7 cars post-race.
On Saturday, Daniel Hemric was deemed to have failed post-race inspection. This removed him from the Dash for Cash event next week at Richmond Raceway. In the case of #21, the failure was relating to wheel toe-alignment.
The next morning, NASCAR reversed the call. The reverting announcement came after informing all parties involved including the Richard Childress Racing (Daniel Hemric), Joe Gibbs Racing (Brandon Jones) and Xfinity (Series sponsor).
“We officiate the NASCAR Xfinity Series a little different than the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series does,” Wayne Auton explained in the Bristol Motor Speedway media center.
“The reason we don’t announce penalties after a race is because we always go back and do our due diligence. To make sure we got our i’s dotted and t’s crossed.”
“The #21 car was out of tolerance on one side. Going back and reviewing our numbers and our rules in the rule book, it plainly states that you must have both sides out. [Only] one side was.”
The mistake was made partly because the MENCS and NXS rules are different. In the MENCS, only one side being out of tolerance would result in an L1 penalty. In the Xfinity Series, both sides need to be out of tolerance for it to result in an L1 penalty.
“There’s a chart that’s in there, Auton explained of the Xfinity rule book. “The one side was out of tolerance and the other side was not. It did not exceed the number that’s in the rule book which would have led to an L1 penalty.”
In the NASCAR Cup Series, numbers are specified for each wheel. In Xfinity, you have to fail both sides for it to result in a penalty.
“We felt like we needed to get ahead of this one.”
“We’re man enough to stand here and say that we looked at it wrong. It’s just a mistake that we made.”