2018 Little 500 Results – May 26, 2018 – Anderson Speedway

2018 Little 500 race results from Anderson Speedway in Anderson, Indiana

California driver Kody Swanson claimed his second Pay Less Little 500 victory in three years after a thrilling three-car battle over the final 50 circuits at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.

View full 2018 Little 500 results below.

The race unfolded with 61 laps remaining with Shane Hollingsworth holding a one-lap lead over Swanson and Jacob Wilson, both on fresher rubber. The two drivers were back on the lead lap with 48 laps remaining and were rapidly closing on Hollingsworth.

Swanson made the ultimate race winning move when he got inside of Wilson on lap 470 and took the lead from Hollingsworth on lap 478.

It was the first Little 500 win for long time car owner Gene Nolen.

His two second victory over Wilson is one of the closest in the 70 year history of the Pay Less Little 500 presented by UAW-GM.

Wilson, Hollingsworth, Mickey Kempgens and Scotty Hampton rounded out the top five.

Kyle O’Gara was named rookie of the race after starting 15th, but a mechanical problem resulted in a 24th place finish.

It appeared Wilson made the right call by stopping for fresh tires near the halfway mark of the race.

Wilson got back on the lead serial on lap 327 and was turning laps at 3-tenths of a second than Swanson, who had not made his second stop.

The lead change came on lap 382 when Wilson got inside of Swanson in turn three. Shane Hollingsworth who led 60 laps got back on the lead lap the 379th circuit after pitting on lap 303.

When Kody Swanson spun on lap 411 Wilson surrendered the lead to Hollingsworth, who was the only car on the lead lap.

Aaron Pierce dominated the first half of the race but a pit stop on lap 241 while leading cost him four laps to the leader.

Pierce took the lead from pole sitter Davey Hamilton Jr. on lap 27 with an inside pass on the front straight. The two ran at the front of the field until the mandatory pit stop before lap 250.

Hamilton’s race ended on lap 254 with an apparent mechanical problem.

2018 Little 500
Race Results

Pos | Driver | Hometown

1. Kody Swanson
Kinsburg, CA

2. Jacob Wilson

3. Shane Hollingsworth

4. Mickey Hampton
Tampa, FL

5. Scotty Hampton

6. Chris Windom
Canton, IL

7. Brian Gerster

8. Caleb Armstrong
New Castle, IN

9. Kenny Schrader
Fenton, MO

10. Shane Cottle

11. Troy De Caire
Tampa, FL

12. Travis Welpott

13. CJ Leary

14. Garrett Green
Valricco, FL

15. Tyler Roahrig

16. Aaron Pierce

17. JJo Helberg
Santa Rosa, CA

18. Bobby Santos III
Franklin, MA

19. Isaac Chappell
Willow Branch

20. Shane Butler
Bushnell, FL

21. Ryan Litt
London, Ontario

22. Davey Hamilton, Jr
Indianapolis, IN

23. Chris Neuenschwander
New Haven

24. Kyle O’Gara
Indianapolis, IN

25. Eric Gordon
Fortville, IN

26. Johnny Gilbertson
Tampa, FL

27. Kevin Thomas Jr
Cullman, AL

28. Jerry Coons Jr
Tucson, AZ

29. John Inman
Dover, FL

30. Tanner Swanson
Kingsburg, CA

31. Jimmy McCune
Toledo, OH

32. Tony Main

33. Brian Tyler
Mt. Pleasant, NC

2018 Little 500
Qualifying Results

1. Davey Hamilton Jr
2. Aaron Pierce
3. Bobby Santos III
4. Kody Swanson
5. Jacob Wilson
6. Chris Neuenschwander
7. JoJo Helberg
8. Jerry Coons Jr
9. Caleb Armstrong
10. Shane Hollingsworth
11. Scotty Hampton
12. Shane Cottle
13. Brian Gerster
14. Ty;er Roahrig
15. Kyle O’Gara
16. Tanner Swanson
17. Ryan Litt
18. Eric Gordon
19. Troy DeCaire
20. Travis Welpott
21. CJ Leary
22. Kevin Thomas Jr
23. Brian Tyler
24. Garrett Green
25. Isaac Chappel
26. Mickey Kempgens
27. Johnny Gilbertson
28. Shane Butler
29. Kenny Schrader
30. John Inman
31. Chris Windom
32. Jeff Bloom
33. Anthony McCune
34. Brian Vaughn
35. Jimmy McCune
36. Doug Dietsch
37. Tony Main
38. Joey Schmidt
39. Tom Paterson
40. Dameron Taylor
41. Dave Osborn


Related: 2017 Little 500 Results


Anderson Speedway