Indycar rookies flustered as Jimmie Johnson wins Indy 500 Rookie Award

Multiple Indycar drivers comment after Johnson was declared ‘Rookie of the Race’ despite crash

Last year, 7-time NASCAR Cup Series champion driver Jimmie Johnson jumped from the world of stock car racing. He landed in the open-wheel world of Indycar.

In 2021, Johnson elected to run only the road-course events. In all of 2021, Johnson had a best finish of 17th. He finished in that spot twice, Laguna Seca and Long Beach. Those were the last two races of the season.

For 2022, Johnson is now running the full Indycar schedule, ovals and road courses included. Earlier this year, he made his first oval start at Texas Motor Speedway where he finished 6th.

Last week, he made his Indianapolis 500 debut. Johnson became an instant favorite as he was fast in the week leading up to the race. However, he missed the Round of 6 in qualifying.

In the race, Johnson was able to lead a single lap, during a green flag pit cycle. However, he crashed late in the event.

On Monday, Jimmie Johnson was awarded the 2022 Indy 500 Rookie of the Race. The award pays a $50,000 bonus.

Indy 500 Results: May 29, 2022 (Indycar Series)

Multiple Indy 500 Rookies comments

Indy 500 - Indycar Series - Indianapolis Motor Speedway - Scott Dixon leads
Indy 500 – Indycar Series – Indianapolis Motor Speedway – Scott Dixon leads (Photo: James Black)

David Malukas stated via twitter, “That one stings. Well, congrats to Jimmie.”

However, Malukas isn’t the only rookie who thought he deserved the award.

Kyle Kirkwood responded to Malukas, “Dude. I risked my life to pass you on the last lap, I thought it was based on finishing position.”

Alexander Rossi added, “People really care about ROY (Rookie of the Year). Go get that.”

Sage Karam noted, “Join the club.”

NASCAR driver Kurt Busch finish 6th in the 2014 Indy 500, he first career Indycar start. It was also the first Indianapolis 500 start for Sage Karam who finished 9th in the race.

Karam reflected on losing to Busch, “He passed 2 cars the entire race in the best car I passed the nearly whole field, twice.”


Jimmie Johnson | David Mulukas | Kyle Kirkwood | Indianapolis Motor Speedway | Indycar