Barber Results: April 28, 2024 (Indycar Series)

Indycar race results from Barber Motorsports Park

Indycar Series drivers are on the grid in Birmingham, Alabama. Barber Motorsports Park is set to host the Grand Prix of Alabama.

View the Barber results for the Indycar Series below.

Barber Menu
TV Schedule | Qual | Race

Scott McLaughlin and Will Power set the front row. 90 laps of open wheel racing are up next…

Race Report

Green flag, McLaughlin gets the jump and he’s clear into turn one. Rinus VeeKay shoves Sting Ray Robb into turn one and Jack Harbey is collected, no caution.

Lap 2, Pato O’Ward is through the sand trap and in the grass, no caution.

Penalty: Rinus VeeKay has been issued a drive-through penalty.

Lap 6, Pato O’Ward jumps curbing and turns Pietro Fittipaldi. Fittipaldi is stuck in the tire barrier, caution. Many drivers head for the pit lane.

Green, McLaughlin leads Power.

Lap 18, Scott Dixon is off in the sand from 7th after contact with Graham Rahal. He’s able to keep it rolling, no caution.

Lap 23, 2nd place runner Power jumps the curb, runs wide and finds the grass. He keeps it rolling but falls to 3rd. Lundgaard takes over 2nd.

Lap 25, Christian Rasmussen is off track, no caution.

Lap 33, Newgarden finds the grass after contact with Armstrong. He keeps it rolling.

Lap 35, McLaughlin cycles back to the lead as the first pit cycle is complete. Lundgaard trails by 7.1 seconds.

Lap 45, Alexander Rossi has lost a left rear tire after a pit stop. The caution is out and the leaders head for the pit lane. Palou stays out and he’s handed the lead. McLaughlin restarts 17th.

Green, Palou leads Rosenqvist.

Lap 55

Lap 55, Sting Ray Robb is stuck in the tire barrier. “I think my steering wheel broke,” the drivers states over the radio. The caution is out.

Most of the leaders head for the pit lane. Palou restarts deep in the field but he’ll be saving fuel as he’s made his last pit stop. McLaughlin restarts 3rd but he’ll need to make one more stop. Ferrucci leads the field to the restart.

Green Ferrucci leads Lundqvsit into turn one.

24 to go, Ferrucci pits from the race lead.

21 to go, Lundqvist pits from the lead. McLaughlin cycles to the lead for now. Palou runs 9th, 10 seconds back of the leader. Palou is going to try and make it without pitting again.

16 to go, McLaughlin pits from the lead for the final time. He holds the race lead in the process.

10 to go, McLaughlin leads Power by 3.7 seconds.

5 to go, Rasmussen drops a wheel, spins and stalls, caution!

Green with 2 to go, McLaughlin leads Power and Lundqvist into turn one.

1 to go, McLaughlin opens the gap as Power is under pressure from Lundqvist.

Scott McLaughlin wins at Barber Motorsports Park!

Barber Motorsports Park
Race Results
April 28, 2024
Indycar Series

Pos | Driver

1. Scott McLaughlin

2. Will Power

3. Linus Lundqvist

4. Felix Rosenqvist

5. Alex Palou

6. Christian Lundgaard

7. Santino Ferrucci

8. Colton Herta

9. Marcus Armstrong

10. Kyle Kirkwood

11. Graham Rahal

12. Romain Grosjean

13. Jack Harvey

14. Kyffin Simpson

15. Scott Dixon

16. Josef Newgarden

17. Rinus VeeKay

18. Marcus Ericsson

19. Tom Blomqvist

20. Agustin Canapino

21. Luca Ghiotto

22. Pato O’Ward

23. Theo Pourchaire

24. Christian Rasmussen

25. Alexander Rossi

26. Sting Ray Robb

27. Pietro Fiittipaldi

Indycar Series
Point Standings

Pos | Driver | Points

1. Colton Herta

2. Will Power

3. Alex Palou

4. Scott Dixon

5. Felix Rosenqvist

6. Pato O’Ward

7. Kyle Kirkwood

8. Linus Lundqvist

9. Scott McLaughlin

10. Santino Ferrucci

Barber Motorsports Park
Video Highlights

Indycar Series | Barber Motorsports Park