NASCAR owns up to a missed a call on Kyle Larson at Texas Motor Speedway in NASCAR Xfinity Series race
In the NASCAR Xfinity Series race at Texas Motor Speedway is where it took place. Under yellow, Kyle Larson drove to pit road from 2nd place on lap 93 of 200. The problem was, pit road was closed.
“I’m an idiot. I’m sorry guys, I just wasn’t paying attention,” Larson stated from the radio button.
Larson drove through pit lane, without coming to his pit box. Then, he merged back into traffic and began heading toward the tail of the field.
However, NASCAR told him to go back up to the front. He wouldn’t be placed in 2nd, where he entered. However, at that time NASCAR stated that because he never went to his pit stall, he would claim the position he was in when he left the pit lane. NASCAR put him in the 8th position, that’s where he blended when leaving pit road.
Then, on the next lap, Larson pitted with everyone else. Larson then took 2 tires and he gained 5 positions. Despite being the 2nd car to leave pit road. He re-entered the race in 12th as many cars never pitted.
Here’s where the mistake was made. Kyle Larson should have been sent to the tail after the pit stop. He wasn’t.
The rule is that if you’re on pit road and then the caution comes out, you can coast through a closed pit and blend into traffic on the exit. However, if you enter a closed pit and it’s closed the whole time, you’re sent to the tail. Kyle Larson was not, he restarted in 12th.
Lap 128, on the next round of yellow flag pit stops, Larson’s crew missed a lug nut. He was forced to return to pit lane. Essentially, he was sent to the tail anyway, on the next stop. The missed call was nullified, only 35 laps after they missed the call.
On lap 158, during the race, NASCAR owned up to their error. Admitting they made a mistake and missed the call. Stating, “He should have been penalized.”
Kyle Larson drove from the tail of the field after the missed lug nut. He finished in