2017 Michigan Starting Lineup – NASCAR Cup Series

2017 Michigan International Speedway starting lineup – Qualifying results from August 11th, 2017 – Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series

Today, the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series drivers set the grid for Michigan International Speedway. 3 rounds of NASCAR qualifying will line up the field for Sunday’s event.

View the full Michigan International Speedway starting lineup below.

Round 1

Kasey Kahne was on the bubble at the tail end of round 1. He made a last minute run that bumped him into a safe position, 11th.

Aric Almirola was 24th. He put 5 laps on his tires to get there. He was the last car on track, in a effort to prevent elimination. But that was unnecessary, he shuts it down before he completes the lap. He has more tire wear than anyone.

Matt DiBendetto felt he was cut off while entering the race track. In the first turn, “I punted him.” Then, he turned a lap fast enough to advance to round 2. “I guess you run a bit faster when you’re angry.”

Round 1 Results: 1. Ryan Blaney; 2. Chase Elliott; 3. Kyle Elliott; 4. Kevin Harvick; 5. Erik Jones; 6. Joey Logano; 7. Ricky Stenhouse Jr; 8. Martin Truex Jr; 9. Denny Hamlin; 10. Kyle Busch;

2017 Michigan International Speedway Qualifying Results
Michigan International Speedway

Round 2

A large cloud has moved over the speedway at the start of round 2. Everyone hits the track. They are all trying to capitalize on the brief lack of sunlight. Clouds offer a bit more grip in the racing surface.

Ryan Blaney becomes the first driver to break the 203 barrier all weekend. He circled the track at an average speed of 203.120.

With 5 minutes remaining, the cloud has mostly passed over the track. Only 2 cars are on the racetrack. Aside from a big swing at the setup, there’s hardly a chance of improvement at this point.

So far, Martin Truex Jr has advanced to the final round of NASCAR qualifying in every race this year except Phoenix. Add Michigan to the list. Martin Truex Jr will be absent for the final round at MIS. He missed it, by one position, 13th.

Jimmie Johnson also failed to transfer. He stated, “Not good.”

Round 2 Results: 1. Ryan Blaney; 2. Brad Keselowski; 3. Kevin Harvick; 4. Kyle Larson; 5. Joey Logano; 6. Chase Elliott; 7. Erik Jones; 8. Denny Hamlin; 9. Kyle Busch; 10. Jamie McMurray;

The Pure Michigan 400 will take place tomorrow at 3PM on NBCSN. The race will feature 200 laps and 400 miles around Michigan International Speedway.

Round 3

Brad Keselowski has yet to win his home race. He’ll start from the pole tomorrow.

Michigan International polesitter Brad Keselowski, “It feels really good to run well here at Michigan. You know, this is my home track. I’m kinda caught up in the moment.”

View the full NASCAR starting lineup below.

Author: Shane Walters

2017 MIS Starting Lineup
Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series

1. Brad Keselowski
2. Joey Logano
3. Kevin Harvick
4. Matt Kenseth
5. Chase Elliott
6. Kyle Busch
7. Jamie McMurray
8. Erik Jones
9. Kyle Larson
10. Denny Hamlin
11. Clint Bowyer
12. Ryan Blaney
13. Martin Truex Jr
14. Ricky Stenhouse Jr
15. Kurt Busch
16. Daniel Suarez
17. Austin Dillon
18. Danica Patrick
19. Dale Earnhardt Jr
20. Chris Buescher
21. Trevor Bayne
22. Jimmie Johnson
23. Kasey Kahne
24. Aric Almirola
25. Ryan Newman
26. Michael McDowell
27. Matt DiBendetto
28. David Ragan
29. AJ Allmendinger
30. Paul Menard
31. Cole Whitt
32. Landon Cassill
33. Ty Dillon
34. Corey LaJoie
35. Brett Moffitt
36. Jeffrey Earnhardt
37. Derrike Cope
38. Reed Sorenson
39. BJ McLeod


Michigan International Speedway
Website | Facebook

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram