Jackson Motorplex Results: May 23, 2020 (World of Outlaws Late Models)

$20,000 to win in the Drydene Double Down Invitational at the Minnesota dirt track

Tonight, the World of Outlaws Late Model Series unloads for the final night at the Minnesota dirt track.

View full Jackson Motorsplex results below.

The track is a large 4/10-mile oval. No fans are allowed entry to the track. This is a broadcast only event.

This marks the first event back for the WoOLMS. It’s also the first event for the series at the facility since 1998.

Race Report

Chad Simpson and Ricky Thornton Jr set the front row for the main event. 24 drivers line up in a four wide salute.

$20,000 is on the line. 60 laps of dirt late model racing are up next…

Green flag, Thornton gets the jump on the inside and he leads on the inside into turn one.

Lap 2, Chad Simpson is rolling on the cushion. He’s running down Thornton Jr in a hurry. Simpson smacks the cushion into turn one, he pulls even with the leader and becomes the new race leader off turn two.

Lap 10, Ricky Thornton Jr is putting pressure on Simpson for the race lead. Both of them run the cushion with lap traffic ahead.

Lap 15, Thornton Jr is working the bottom lane. He can pull even with the leader but can’t complete the pass.

Lap 16, Chris Simpson is slow and the caution is out.

Green, Simpson leads on the top as Thornton attempts the slider on the bottom. Simpson holds the lead off the top.

Scott Bloomquist squeezes in a hole ahead of Sheppard. Sheppard gives him a shot in the fuel cell down the back stretch. That’s a battle for 6th.

Bloomquist may have an issue on the rear end after that contact. He’s dropping through the field.

Lap 25, Simpson continues to roll the top. Thornton sticks with the bottom. They even up at the center of the corner, lap after lap but Simpson has the high side momentum off the corner.


Lap 30, Weiss and Madden runs side by side by 3rd. Weiss takes that position.

Lap 32, Simpson has caught the tail of the field. Simpson drops off the top as he zig-zags lap cars. Thornton follows him through.

Lap 38, Thornton noses ahead on the inside but Simpson swings back by on the outside at the line. They continue to race through lap traffic as Weiss closes on both of them.

Lap 40, Jason Rauen tags the wall into turn one. The caution is out.

Green, Simpson leads. Thornton Jr attempts the slider, can’t pull it off.

Lap 41, Kody Evans is slow and the caution is back out.

Green, Simpson leads. Weiss is on the bumper of Thornton Jr off turn two. Thornton Jr heads to the cushion to defend the 2nd position, he does.

10 to go

10 to go, Chad Simpson and Ricky Thornton Jr run nose to tail around the top in turn one. They’re separated by a car length.

Simpson gets loose off turn two. Thornton has a run into turn three but can’t complete the pass.

8 to go, Simpson jumps the cushion off turn two! Thornton Jr to the lead!

6 to go, the caution is out. Bloomquist and Winger had to the pits. Shannon Babb is overheating from 6th! Babb is forced to the pit lane as well.

Green, Thornton Jr heads for the top in turn one. Weiss puts pressure on Simpson for 2nd, Weiss clears him with a slider in turn one.

3 to go, Thornton Jr leads Weiss by 6 car lengths.

Ricky Thornton Jr wins at the Jackson Motorplex! That’s his first career World of Outlaws Late Model Series win and it’s a big on at the tune of $20,000.

World of Outlaws
Late Model Series
Jackson Motorplex
May 23, 2020

View full results from the Jackson, MN dirt track below.

Hot Laps

Hot Laps (Combined): 1. Cade Dillard (15.992); 2. Frank Heckenast Jr (15.993); 3. Brandon Sheppard (16.086); 4. Boom Briggs (16.126); 5. Chase Junghans (16.237); 6. Justin Zeitner; 7. Chris Madden; 8. Dennis Erb Jr; 9. Shannon Babb; 10. Chad Simpson; 11. Matt Cosner; 12. Kody Evans; 13. Ricky Thornton Jr; 14. Ashton Winger; 15. Chris Simpson; 16. Jake Timm; 17. Scott Bloomquist; 18. Scott Ward; 19. Brent Larson; 20. Jason Rauen; 21. Gary Brown Jr; 22. Casey Skyberg; 23. Jeremy Grady; 24. Tad Pospisil; 25. Chuck Swenson;


Qualifying Flight A (2 Laps): 1. Chad Simpson (15.603); 2. Jeremy Grady (15.779); 3. Scott Bloomquist (15.784); 4. Ricky Thornton Jr (15.801); 5. Tad Pospisil (15.832); 6. Brent Larson; 7. Blair Nothdurft; 8. Chris Simpson; 9. Jason Rauen; 10. Gary Brown Jr; 11. Jake Timm; 12. Shannon Babb; 13. Ricky Weiss; 14. Casey Skyberg;

Qualifying Flight B (2 Laps): 1. Ashton Winger (15.860); 2. Frank Heckenast Jr (15.864); 3. Boom Briggs (15.878); 4. Chris Madden (15.884); 5. Brandon Sheppard (15.889); 6. Cade Dillard; 7. Justin Zeitner; 8. Chase Junghans; 9. Dennis Erb Jr; 10. Matt Cosner; 11. Darrell Lanigan; 12. Kody Evans; 13. Scott Ward; 14. Chuck Swenson;

Heat Races

Heat 1 – Flight A (10 Laps – Top 4 Advance, Top 2 to Redraw): 1. Chad Simpson; 2. Scott Bloomquist; 3. Ricky Weiss; 4. Jason Rauen; 5. Tad Pospisil; 6. Jake Timm; 7. Blair Nothdurft;

Heat 2 – Flight A (10 Laps – Top 4 Advance, Top 2 to Redraw): 1. Ricky Thornton Jr; 2. Chris Simpson; 3. Jeremy Grady; 4. Brent Larson; 5. Shannon Babb; 6. Gary Brown Jr; 7. Casey Skyberg;

Heat 3 – Flight B (10 Laps – Top 4 Advance, Top 2 to Redraw): 1. Justin Zeitner; 2. Ashton Winger; 3. Brandon Sheppard; 4. Boom Briggs; 5. Dennis Erb Jr; 6. Darrell Lanigan; 7. Scott Ward;

Heat 4 – Flight B (10 Laps – Top 4 Advance, Top 2 to Redraw): 1. Chris Madden; 2. Frank Hecknast Jr; 3. Chase Junghans; 4. Cade Dillard; 5. Matt Cosner; 6. Kody Evans; 7. Chuck Swenson;

Alphabet Mains

B-Main (12 Laps – Top 6 Advance): 1. Dennis Erb Jr; 2. Shannon Babb; 3. Darrell Lanigan; 4. Jake Timm; 5. Tad Pospisil; 6. Kody Evans; 7. Gary Brown Jr; 8. Matt Cosner; 9. Balir Nothdurft; 10. Scott Ward; 11. Chuck Swenson; 12. Casey Skyberg;

Redraw Order

Draw (Sets front four rows in Feature): 1. Chad Simpson; 2. Ricky Thornton Jr; 3. Justin Zeitner; 4. Chris Madden; 5. Scott Bloomquist; 6. Chris Simpson; 7. Ashton Winger; 8. Frank Heckenast Jr

Feature Results
Jackson Motorplex
World of Outlaws Late Models
May 23, 2020

(60 Laps – $20,000 to win)

Pos | Driver

1. Ricky Thornton Jr
2. Ricky Weiss
3. Brandon Sheppard
4. Chad Simpson
5. Chris Madden
6. Chase Junghans
7. Darrell Lanigan
8. Cade Dillard
9. Dennis Erb Jr
10. Frank Heckenast Jr
11. Boom Briggs
12. Matt Cosner
13. Brent Larson
14. Scott Bloomquist
15. Ashton Winger
16. Shannon Babb
17. Justin Zeitner
18. Kody Evans
19. Jason Rauen
20. Tad Pospisil
21. Chris Simpson
22. Jeremy Grady
23. Blair Nothdurft
24. Jake Timm

World of Outlaws
Point Standings

Points After: 05/23/2020 (Jackson)

Pos | Driver | Points

1. Brandon Sheppard

2. Ricky Weiss

3. Darrell Lanigan

4. Chris Madden

5. Chase Junghans

6. Cade Dillard

7. Dennis Erb Jr

8. Scott Bloomquist

9. Ashton Winger

10. Matt Cosner

11. Boom Briggs

12. Kody Evans

13. Brent Larson


World of Outlaws | Jackson Motorplex