Joe Gibbs Racing announces 2021 driver/crew chief pairings

Adam Stevens and Kyle Busch will part ways after two NASCAR championships

Kyle Busch and Christopher Bell will each have new crew chiefs for the 2021 NASCAR racing season.

“We go through a process at the conclusion of every season that includes evaluating each of our teams,” said Joe Gibbs, Owner of Joe Gibbs Racing. “We believe our crew chief lineup for 2021 will best position each team and driver for success across both series.

Gibbs added, “We take a lot of pride in our depth of talent across our entire organization. All of our crew chiefs are proven winners. We are also looking forward to bringing the No. 54 Toyota Supra back to the track in 2021 with an exciting team of drivers.”

Joe Gibbs Racing: 2021 NASCAR Cup Series lineup

Adam Stevens and Kyle Busch have raced together for the last six years. Together, they claimed championships in 2015 and again in 2019.

However in 2020, Kyle Busch had his worst season since 2014. He collected only one win and was eliminated in round 2 of the NASCAR playoffs.

Busch led just 516 laps in 2020. That comes off a year in 2019 where he led 1582 laps and took home the 2019 NASCAR Cup Series championship.

In 2021, Ben Beshore will serve as the crew chief for Kyle Busch. Beshore previously worked on the No. 18 cup team. Last year, he served as a crew chief in the NASCAR Xfinity Series.

Adam Stevens will serve as the crew chief for Christopher Bell. Bell takes over the No. 20 ride after Leavine Family Racing closed the doors after the 2020 season.

No. 11
Driver: Denny Hamlin
Crew Chief: Chris Gabehart

No. 18
Driver: Kyle Busch
Crew Chief: Ben Beshore

No. 18
Driver: Martin Truex Jr
Crew Chief: James Small

No. 20
Driver: Christopher Bell
Crew Chief: Adam Stevens

Harrison Burton on the Charlotte ROVAL - NASCAR Xfinity Series
CONCORD, NORTH CAROLINA – OCTOBER 10: Harrison Burton, driver of the #20 Dex Imaging Toyota, leads the field during the NASCAR Xfinity Series Drive for the Cure 250 presented by Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Carolina at Charlotte Motor Speedway on October 10, 2020 in Concord, North Carolina. (Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images)

Joe Gibbs Racing: 2021 Xfinity lineup

Jason Ratcliff will serve as the crew chief for Harrison Burton. Dave Rogers takes the role of crew chief for the No. 18 driver of Daniel Hemric.

Chris Gayle will serve as the crew chief of the No. 54 Toyota Supra. The driver and schedule have yet to be announced.

No. 18
Driver: Daniel Hemric
Crew Chief: Dave Rogers

No. 19
Driver: Brandon Jones
Crew Chief: Jeff Meendering

No. 20
Driver: Harrison Burton
Crew Chief: Jason Ratcliff

No. 54
Drivers: TBA
Crew Chief: Chris Gayle


Christopher Bell | Kyle Busch | Joe Gibbs Racing | NASCAR