2017 Spring Nationals Points – Final – Brandon Overton Wins Title

Brandon Overton claims 2017 Spring Nationals Series Championship – Winner declared by just 14 points

BRASSTOWN, N.C. – June 12, 2017 – Brandon Overton of Evans, Ga. claimed the 2017 Series Title for the Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels and Tennessee RV.

Brandon Overton 2017 Spring Nationals Series Championship

Overton became the fourth different champion in the five seasons of the Spring Nationals Series. Overton drove the Crossfit Overton, A.F. Stone Professional Medical Services, Mission Transport and Stone Land Clearing & Excavating-sponsored Longhorn Chassis by Weaver to the series championship. Steve Casebolt (Richmond, Ind.) in 2013, Billy Ogle Jr. (Knoxville, Tenn.) in 2014 and Donald McIntosh (Dawsonville, Ga.) 2015/2016 claimed previous series titles.

The tour saw six different winners in nine events with Michael Page, Brandon Overton and Ricky Weiss all becoming first-time winners. The average car count was 32 cars for the season. A total of $85,821 was paid out to the drivers that ran 100 percent of the races, the top-seven competitors.

Overton claimed three victories in route to his first-ever series title. The victories came at Ponderosa Speedway April 14th, Florence Speedway April 15th and Boyd’s Speedway May 26th. Overton earned $24,800 in nine races and $5,053 for the championship purse. Overton earned $29,853 in total earnings from March until Memorial Day weekend. Overton also had eight top-five finishes and eight top-10 finishes this season.

Donald McIntosh - 2017 Spring Nationals Points
Donald McIntosh

Runner-up Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga. is the two-time and defending series champion. He earned $18,178 in total series earnings (including points fund) along with one victory, five top five finishes and nine top-ten finishes. McIntosh drove the Blount Motorsports-owned Rocket Chassis to the runner-up position.

Third place finisher in the point standings was Ricky Weiss of Headingly, Manitoba, Canada. Weiss competed in the Vic Hill Racing Engines-powered Longhorn Chassis. Weiss had one victory, four top-five finishes and five top-10 finishes. Weiss earned $12,353 in total earnings.

Michael Chilton of Salvisa, Ky. finished fourth in the final point standings while driving the Michael Chilton Motorsports, Caton Industrial Painting-sponsored Rocket Chassis. Chilton had three top-five finishes and five top-10 finishes. Chilton earned $8,213 in the nine races.

Shanon Buckingham Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals
Shanon Buckingham

Finishing fifth in the point standings was Shanon Buckingham of Morristown, Tenn. who drove the Double Down Motorsports-owned Tennessee RV-sponsored Longhorn chassis. Buckingham earned $8,183 in nine races. Buckingham also had two top-five finishes and 6 top-ten finishes.

Finishing sixth in the final points was Robby Moses of Maryville, Tenn. in the Double Down Motorsports entry. He earned $4,073 in the final totals. Seventh in the final points was Jason Croft of Woodstock, Ga. driving the Capital Race Cars entry. He earned $4,968 in total monies.

Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, Ga. entered five events with two victories and never finished outside the top-three. He earned $17,300 in just five events and finished eighth in the final point standings. Michael Page of Douglasville, Ga finished ninth in the final Spring Nationals Series points and Austin Horton of Whitesburg, Ga. finished tenth in the final standings.

In a little over a month the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels and Tennessee RV, which begins an 11-race trek across the Southeast, will open up at Wythe Raceway in Rural Retreat, Va. on July 15th for a 50-lap $10,000-to-win event. The tour stretches through July 29th at Tazewell (Tenn.) Speedway with the season-ending $10,000-to-win finale. This will mark the 13th season of the tour.

2017 Spring Nationals Series winners:

Michael Page-Senoia Raceway-$4,000-March 24
Donald McIntosh-Senoia Raceway-$6,000-March 25
Brandon Overton-Ponderosa Speedway-$4,000-April 14
Brandon Overton-Florence Speedway-$5,000-April 15
Mike Marlar-Volunteer Speedway-$10,052-April 28
Ricky Weiss-Crossville Speedway-$4,000-May 19
Brandon Overton-Boyd’s Speedway-$4,000-May 26
Dale McDowell-Dixie Speedway-$5,000-May 27
Dale McDowell-Rome Speedway-$6,000-May 28

2017 Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series Points:

1. Brandon Overton (Evans, GA)- 1,730
2. Donald McIntosh (Dawsonville, GA)- 1,716
3. Ricky Weiss (Headingly, Manitoba, Canada)- 1,636
4. Michael Chilton (Salvisa, KY)- 1,630
5. Shanon Buckingham (Morristown, TN)- 1,622
6. Robby Moses (Maryville, TN)- 1,403
7. Jason Croft (Woodstock, GA)- 1,398
8. Dale McDowell (Chickamauga, GA)- 984
9. Michael Page (Douglasville, GA)- 918
10. Austin Horton (Whitesburg, GA)- 898

Contact: Chris Tilley
Spring Nationals Series P.R. Coordinator
606-219-1723 | [email protected]