Michigan Starting Lineup: August 9, 2020 (NASCAR Cup Series)

NASCAR starting grid for Sunday at Michigan International Speedway

One of two races is in the books. Today, the NASCAR Cup Series will conclude the double-header race weekend at Michigan International Speedway.

View the full 2020 Michigan starting lineup for Sunday at Michigan International Speedway below.

Michigan Menu: NCS
TV/Info | Sat Lineup | Sat Race | Sun Lineup | Sun Race

How they set the lineup for Sunday at Michigan International Speedway

There’s no qualifying or practice sessions for the rest of 2020. Typically, the field is set via a random draw. However, it’s different for double-header events…

The top 20 have been inverted based on their finishing position in Saturday’s event at the same track. 21st-39th will start in their same finishing order from the event.

Chris Buescher finished 20th on Saturday. Per the invert, Buescher will now start on the pole position for Sunday’s event. Clint Bowyer will complete the front row.

Kevin Harvick won Saturday’s race. He will now start from the 20th position in the Consumers Energy 400 and be on his way to the front in a hurry when they drop the green.

Michigan International Speedway
Starting Lineup
August 9, 2020
NASCAR Cup Series

Pos | Driver | Team

1. Chris Buescher
Roush Fenway Racing

2. Clint Bowyer
Stewart-Haas Racing

3. Tyler Reddick
Richard Childress Racing

4. Matt Kenseth
Chip Ganassi Racing

5. Aric Almirola
Stewart-Haas Racing

6. Matt DiBenedetto
Wood Brothers Racing

7. William Byron
Hendrick Motorsports

8. Christopher Bell
Leavine Family Racing

9. Jimmie Johnson
Hendrick Motorsports

10. Erik Jones
Joe Gibbs Racing

11. Kurt Busch
Chip Ganassi Racing

12. Bubba Wallace
Richard Petty Motorsports

13. Joey Logano
Team Penske

14. Chase Elliott
Hendrick Motorsports

15. Denny Hamlin
Joe Gibbs Racing

16. Kyle Busch
Joe Gibbs Racing

17. Ryan Blaney
Team Penske

18. Martin Truex Jr
Joe Gibbs Racing

19. Brad Keselowski
Team Penske

20. Kevin Harvick
Stewart-Haas Racing

21. Alex Bowman
Hendrick Motorsports

22. Corey LaJoie
Go Fas Racing

23. Ty Dillon
Germain Racing

24. Daniel Suarez
Gaunt Brothers Racing

25. Ryan Preece
JTG Daugherty Racing

26. JJ Yeley
Rick Ware Racing

27. Quin Houff
StarCom Racing

28. Ryan Newman
Roush Fenway Racing

29. Michael McDowell
Front Row Motorsports

30. Reed Sorenson
Spire Motorsports

31. Austin Dillon
Richard Childress Racing

32. Ricky Stenhouse Jr
JTG Daugherty Racing

33. Timmy Hill
Motorsports Business Management

34. Cole Custer
Stewart-Haas Racing

35. Garrett Smithley
Rick Ware Racing

36. John Hunter Nemechek
Front Row Motorsports

37. Brennan Poole
Premium Motorsports

38. James Davison
Petty Ware Racing

39. Josh Bilicki
Tommy Baldwin Racing


Michigan International Speedway | NASCAR