DIRTcar Summer Nationals Merritt Speedway Results

Ryan Unzicker Leads 2016 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Merritt Speedway Results

LAKE CITY, Mich. – July 14, 2016 – Ryan Unzicker was up front throughout Thursday night’s Summer Nationals event at Merritt Speedway, but Jason Feger did not make his second series win this year easy.

Click here to view the 2016 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule

Unzicker started on the pole with points leader and reigning series champion Bobby Pierce on his outside. Pierce slipped back early as Feger charged. Through the late portions of the feature, Feger pulled even with Unzicker twice as he worked his way through traffic.

Unzicker managed to maintain the top spot and once he cleared the traffic, he pulled away from Feger. Pierce rallied late, battling past Feger and taking the second spot.

“I seen him coming off of turn two one time,” Unzicker said of the charging Feger. “I never really saw him on the inside, never really felt the pressure on the inside, but I seen him on the outside there on lap 26 and we just tried to drop the hammer again and get going.”

Unzicker has one other win this season at Clarksville Speedway on June 28.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns to action on Friday night at Oakshade Speedway in Wauseon, Ohio for the first night of a double-header.

Follow the Summer Nationals and Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter at Twitter.com/SummerNationals or on Facebook at Facebook.com/SummerNationals. Stay up-to-date with the latest news from the series throughout the lead up and the summer on the series’ websites at TheHellTour.com andModifiedNationals.com.


2016 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Merritt Speedway Results

Lake City, Mich.

A-Main: 1. Ryan Unzicker (El Paso, IL), 2. Bobby Pierce (Oakwood, IL), 3. Jason Feger (Bloomington, IL), 4. Taylor Scheffler (Waukesha, WI), 5. Travis Stemler (Ionia, MI), 6. Ryan Vanderveen (Six Lakes, MI), 7. Richard Neiser (Fruitport, MI), 8. Gordy Gundaker (St Charles, MO), 9. Nick Kurtz (Greenville, MI), 10. Chad Foster (McBain, MI), 11. Sam Epling (Bancroft, MI), 12. Garrett Wiles (Hubbardston, MI), 13. Michael Luberda (AuGres, MI), 14. Chris Brindley (West Branch, MI), 15. Bob Gardner (East Peoria, IL), 16. Greg Walters (Banks, OR), 17. Bob Mayer (Holland, OH), 18. Jarrett Rendel (Clayton, MI), 19. Greg Gokey (Buckley, MI), 20. Eric Spangler (Lake City, MI), 21. Bobby Timmer (McBain, MI), 22. Curt Spalding (Hartford, MI)

Photo: Jim Denhamer