Bubba Raceway Park Winter Nationals Results – February 19, 2017 – Lucas Oil Dirt

Brandon Sheppard steals the win from Bloomquist. View Bubba Raceway Park Winter Nationals Results from February 19th, 2017 below

Bubba Raceway Park is a unique racetrack. This D shaped semi-banked oval provided 50 laps of exciting racing. Tonight’s race was full of surprises.

The 50 lap LOLMDS feature started with Josh Richards and Scott Bloomquist on the front row. These two heavyweight dirt late model were set to put on a show for the Ocala crowd.

Scott Bloomquist drove into turn 1 with the early lead. He actually pulled a gap on second place Josh Richards by lap 5. However, Richards made that gap disappear and then work it in the other direction. As he caught Bloomquist and took the lead, in the course of about 1 lap.

RELATED: Bubba Raceway Park Winter Nationals Photos – February 19, 2017

Josh Richards Bubba Raceway Park 8429

The pole sitter, Josh Richards must have been saving his equipment early on or Scott Bloomquist just went backwards. Don O’Neal also slipped passed Bloomquist.

Now, Josh Richards and Don O’Neal are running away with the show.

But on this tiny 3/8 mile track, lap traffic is an issue, on every lap but the first one. A lapper spins, he collects the leader. Don O’Neal is offered nowhere to go but directly into the crash scene.

Don O’Neal is out. He throws his helmet in frustration. The #5 Clint Bowyer Racing machine gets carried off the racetrack on the hook, engine smoking.

Josh Richards hits the pits under yellow, Richards returns missing a nose cone. Jimmy Owens was in third under this same caution. However, the #20 has a flat, he gives up 3rd place to change a tire.

Nearly the entire top 5 has troubles, in the course of one lap, except Scott Bloomquist.

Scott Bloomquist Bubba Raceway Park 8402

Green flag. It looks like he’s been handed the win.

Scott Bloomquist leads the next 30 or so consecutive laps, he’s opened a gap on everyone. He’s heading the the checkered flag, two to go.

Caution. The field is reset. Brandon Sheppard is now restarting in the front. He see’s the win, just one spot away. The eagerness for another win is real. Green.

White flag lap, Bloomquist your leader. He slides low and through the middle in turns 1-2. Brandon Sheppard takes the high side, full throttle around the top.

Sheppard has the momentum off the corner. He pulls along side! The crowd erupts. Sheppard drives it hard into turn 3. Sheppard on the outside, Bloomquist goes to the bottom.

Bubba Raceway Park Lucas Oil Dirt Series Finish - February 19 2017 Results Brandon Sheppard Scott Bloomquist 8664

They come off 4, with no gap between them. Brandon Sheppard has just come out of nowhere to win the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event at Bubba Raceway Park.

In victory lane Bloomquist came over to congratulate Brandon Sheppard with a rare smile. He keeps it short, “Good job man.”

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will return to action in March. On March 17th, the series heads to Atomic Speedway in Chillicothe, Ohio.

The next day, March 18th they will re-stack the field at Brownstown Speedway in Brownstown, IN.

View full Bubba Raceway Park Lucas Oil Late Model results below.

Author: Shane Walters


Brandon Sheppard Photos – Bubba Raceway Park


Bubba Raceway Park
February 19, 2017

Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Josh Richards 14.290 seconds

Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Scott Bloomquist 14.171 seconds


Heat 1
Bubba Raceway Park
February 19, 2017

(10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Josh Richards, Don O’Neal, Boom Briggs, Chub Frank, Jonathan Davenport, Gregg Satterlee, Tim McCreadie, Steve Casebolt , Morgan Bagley, Darrell Lanigan, Austin Rettig-DNS


Heat 2
Bubba Raceway Park
February 19, 2017

(10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jimmy Owens, Earl Pearson, Jr., Brandon Sheppard, Donald McIntosh, Kenny PettyJohn, Dale Hollidge, Jared Miley, Corey Conley , Brent Larson, Steve Francis, Larry Baer-DNS


Heat 3
Bubba Raceway Park
February 19, 2017

(10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Dennis Erb, Jr., Jason Fitzgerald, Ivedent Lloyd, Jr., Bob Gardner, Doug Drown, John Gardner, Jason Jameson, Timothy Culp, Pancho Lawler, Austin Kirkpatrick


Heat 4
Bubba Raceway Park
February 19, 2017

(10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Hudson O’Neal, Tyler Erb, GR Smith, Frank Heckenast, Jr., Kyle Bronson, Austin Hubbard, Coleby Frye, Shan Smith, Colton Flinner, Freddie Carpenter, Tyler Clem-DNS


B-Main 1
Bubba Raceway Park
February 19, 2017

(12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Jonathan Davenport, Tim McCreadie, Kenny PettyJohn, Dale Hollidge, Gregg Satterlee, Morgan Bagley, Brent Larson, Corey Conley , Jared Miley, Austin Rettig, Steve Casebolt-DNS, Darrell Lanigan-DNS, Steve Francis-DNS, Larry Baer-DNS


B-Main 2
Bubba Raceway Park
February 19, 2017

(12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Kyle Bronson, Austin Hubbard, Bob Gardner, John Gardner, Coleby Frye, Shan Smith, Jason Jameson, Doug Drown, Pancho Lawler, Timothy Culp, Colton Flinner, Freddie Carpenter-DNS, Austin Kirkpatrick-DNS, Tyler Clem-DNS


Bubba Raceway Park
February 19, 2017

Feature Finish (50 Laps):

1 11 1S Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL $10,000
2 2 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN $6,700
3 6 28E Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL $4,700
4 7 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL $4,050
5 16 99JR Frank Heckenast, Jr. Frankfort, IL $2,250
6 19 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY $3,000
7 13 1* Chub Frank Bear Lake, PA $1,500
8 9 99B Boom Briggs Bear Lake, PA $1,800
9 17 49 Jonathan Davenport Williamson, SC $2,000
10 1 1R Josh Richards Shinnston, WV $2,400
11 10 7F Jason Fitzgerald Middleburg, FL $1,075
12 23 14 Darrell Lanigan Union, KY $1,750
13 20 11 Austin Hubbard Bridgeville, DE $1,025
14 14 21L Ivedent Lloyd, Jr. Ocala, FL $1,000
15 3 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN $2,250
16 8 91 Tyler Erb New Waverly, TX $925
17 18 40B Kyle Bronson Brandon, FL $900
18 15 7m Donald McIntosh Dawsonville, GA $875
19 4 71 Hudson O’Neal Martinsville, IN $1,350
20 12 22* GR Smith Statesville, NC $825
21 21 38 Kenny PettyJohn Millsboro, DE $800
22 22 4G Bob Gardner Washington, IL $800
23 24 15 Steve Francis Bowling Green, KY $2,000
24 25 75 Colton Flinner Allison Park, PA $800
25 5 5 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN $1,600


Race Statistics

Entrants: 43
Lap Leaders: Scott Bloomquist (Lap 1); Josh Richards (Laps 2 – 20); Scott Bloomquist (Laps 21 – 49); Brandon Sheppard (Lap 50)
Cautions: GR Smith (Lap 8); Josh Richards, Don O’Neal, Bob Gardner (Lap 20); Tyler Erb (Lap 25); Hudson O’Neal (Lap 48)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Darrell Lanigan; Steve Francis
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: Colton Flinner
Wrisco Feature Winner: Brandon Sheppard
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Tim McCreadie (Started: 19th; Finished: 6th; Advanced 13 Positions)
Midwest Sheet Metal Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Josh Richards
Allstar Performance Power Move of the Race: Brandon Sheppard
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Brandon Sheppard
Hot Rod Processing Rookie of the Race: n/a
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Durham Racing Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Rocket Chassis
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Heather Lyne (Dennis Erb Jr.)
Fastest Lap of the Race: Scott Bloomquist (Lap #21 – 14.1926 seconds)
Safecraft Most Laps Led: Scott Bloomquist (30 Laps)
PFC Brakes Pole Award: Josh Richards
Time of Race: 37 minutes 42 seconds


More Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt

2017 Schedule/Results | Lucas Oil Dirt Section



Shane Walters
Website | Facebook | Twitter

WebsiteFacebook | Twitter | YouTube

Bubba Raceway Park
Website | Facebook | Twitter