2018 World of Outlaws Late Model Series drivers’ list

Who’s running with the World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series in 2018?

Below is a list of 2018 WoOLMS driver announcements.

Worth noting, there could be more than 12 full-time World of Outlaws Late Model Series drivers in 2018. The series made an important change regarding WoO regular payments.

In 2018, the tow money has been increased for drivers with perfect attendance. It will now extend outside of the top 12 in points. From 13th on back, drivers with perfect attendance will receive a $300 bonus for each night of racing.

Currently, 11 drivers have confirmed they will run full-time with the WoOLMS. It’s only December, the list will grow.

Outlaws Returning in 2018:

Chris Madden (Gray Court, SC) (in the Barry Wright house car) hopes to place one position higher in the 2018 points chase after finishing second in the standings in 2017 during his first full-year with the Series.

Shane Clanton (Zebulon, GA) returns for his 14th consecutive year with the World of Outlaws. With only two more Series wins, Clanton will tie Billy Moyer for third on the Series all-time wins list with 42 wins. Clanton totaled five wins in 2017.

Tyler Erb (New Waverly, TX) returns full-time in 2018 gunning for that elusive first career Series win. Collecting six second-place finishes with the Series in 2017, the best is yet to come for “Terbo” Tyler Erb.

Rick Eckert (York, PA) will return in 2018 for his 15th consecutive year with the World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series. Eckert was one of the original “Dirty Dozen” contract drivers when World Racing Group restarted the Series in 2004 and has been a mainstay on the tour ever since. In 2018 we look forward to spending our 30th commemorative anniversary with one of our original drivers from 2004.

Brandon Sheppard (New Berlin, IL) will try to defend his 2017 World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series Championship title in 2018. Sheppard had a dominating year in the Rocket Chassis House Car totaling 18 Series wins, 37 top-fives, and 41 top-10 performances in 43 Series races.

Mike Marlar Brown County Speedway Lucas Oil Late Models 9324
Mike Marlar at Brown County Speedway

Joining the Outlaws Full-Time:

Mike Marlar (Winfield, TN) entered 17 Series races in 2017 collecting seven podium finishes including one win at Duck River Raceway Park. Marlar is looking to shake things up in the points battle in 2018 with his focused fully placed on walking away with the Championship title.

Brian Shirley (Chatham, IL) (paired with G.R. Smith) announced they would be running full-time with the Outlaws in 2018. “This deal with G.R. Smith… I can put 110% of my energy and focus into what I’m doing in the driver’s seat, and that’s a huge deal for me. That’s the type of situation that you have to be in these days if you are going to compete and win at the top level,” said Shirley.

Related: Brian Shirley joins G.R. Smith Racing

Chase Junghans (Manhattan, KS) will make his return as a full-time driver with the #WoOCraftLMS in 2018. Junghans joined the Series full-time in 2014 but dropped off the tour in August of 2016. Although he was not a full-time Outlaw in 2017, Junghans joined 26 Series races of 43. His best performance was at Salina Highbanks where he finished one spot shy of the win.

Timothy Culp C8 Dirt Late Model 1429
Timothy Culp – C8 Dirt Late Model
Rookie of the Year Chase:

Brent Larson (Lake Elmo, MN) entered nearly half of the Series races in 2017 showing great improvement over the course of the season. Larson’s best finish was at Lakeside Speedway placing fifth he also collected 5 top-10 finishes of 20 races entered.

David Breazeale (Four Corners, MS) is a regional standout winning seven special regional events in 2017. Breazeale joined the Outlaws for one event in 2017 at Senoia Raceway Park

Timothy Culp (West Monroe, LA) wrote his name on the World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series wins list in 2017 with his victory at Lonestar Speedway. He entered four Series races and finished in the top-five three times.

Bobby Pierce 2018 ride with Dunn Benson Motorsports
Bobby Pierce 2018 ride with Dunn Benson Motorsports
Other – Awaiting Announcements?

Devin Moran (Dresdin, OH) stated ahead of PRI that they are working on 2018 plans. They stated that they planned to announce their 2018 plans over the weekend. However, I’ve yet to hear anything confirmed. In 2017, Moran finished 4th in WoOLMS points and collected 2 wins.

Eric Wells (Hazard, Kentucky) finished 7th in 2017 WoOLMS series standings. No announcement has been made from the team for 2018.

Morgan Bagley (Longview, TX) finished tied for 8th in 2017 WoOLMS series standings. No announcement has been made from the team for 2018.

Frank Heckenast Jr (Frankfort, IL) finished 10th in 2017 WoOLMS series standings. No announcement has been made from the team for 2018. He suffered a concussion late in the season.

Related: Frank Heckenast Jr out with a concussion

Bobby Pierce (Dunn, NC) has yet to announce his 2018 plans. The Oakwood, IL resident has signed with Dunn Benson Motorsports for 2018. In the team release they stated the team is discusses options including a run at the LOLMDS or WoOLMS title.

Related: Bobby Pierce joins Dunn Benson Motorsports

Brandon Overton (Evans, GA) ran only 11 races with the Outlaws in 2017. However, the team picked up two wins. In 2016, he ran full-time with the Outlaws, finishing 4th in the standings.

Chris Ferguson (Charlotte, NC) posted a poll on twitter. He asked the fans, ‘Should I run with the WoOLateModels next year?’ The poll result was 77% yes.

Dropping from the WoO tour for 2018

Chub Frank (Bear Lake, PA) finished 8th in 2017 WoOLMS series standings. For 2018, he announced he will scale back his full-time racing program. Frank ended the 2017 season, with an 8-year winless streak on the tour.