Indianapolis Penalty Report: July 2020 (NASCAR)

NASCAR penalty report from Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Over the weekend, the Indianapolis Motor Speedway hosted both the NASCAR Cup Series as well as the NASCRA Xfinity Series. The NCS division ran the oval while the NXS division ran the brand new road course.

View the full 2020 Indianapolis penalty report below.

Chase Briscoe drove to victory lane in the NASCAR Xfinty Series event. Kevin Harvick drove to the win in the Brickyard 400.

Tommy Joe Martins lost a rear axle in the course of the event. That’s a more serious and rare violation that’s resulted in the one race suspension.

Additionally, there was a single lug nut violation.

Indianapolis Penalties
NASCAR Xfinity Series

Driver/Car: Tommy Joe Martins #44

Infraction Date: July 4, 2020 (Post-Race)

Level: Safety

Infraction: Section – Loss or separation of improperly installed real axle Note: Loss of axle during the event

Penalty: Crew chief (Daniel Johnson) has been suspended for the next NASCAR Xfintiy Series points event.

Driver/Car: Austin Cindric #22

Infraction Date: July 4, 2020 (Post-Race)

Level: Safety

Infraction: Sections – Tires and Wheels – Note: Lug nut(s) not properly installed.

Penalty: Crew chief ( Brian Wilson ) has been fined $5,000.

Indianapolis Penalties
NASCAR Cup Series

No penalties were announced in the NASCAR Cup Series following the race on July 5, 2020.


Indianapolis Motor Speedway | NASCAR