Road America Results: July 11, 2020 (NTT Indycar Series)

Indycar race results from Road America

Today, the NTT Indycar Series takes the green flag in the first of two races at Road America. . We’re set to go road course racing in the Rev Group Grand Prix.

View Road America results below.

Road America: Menu
July 11 Race | July 12 Lineup | July 12 Race

14 turns spread over 4.048-miles. The Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin track is a favorite among open-wheel fans.

Josef Newgarden and Jack Harvey will set the front row following qualifying. 55 laps of racing are up next…

Road America
Race – Report

Green flag, Josef Newgarden gets the jump. Ryan Hunter-Reay makes it three wide for 2nd at the line. Will Power runs wide off turn one. Hunter-Reay is all over Newgarden for the lead in turn five.

Lap 1, Rossi is off the track in the final corner.

Lap 3, Rossi heads for the pits. He has signage stuck on his front wing. Andretti pits as well with the same issue.

Indycar Series at Road America
Indycar Series at Road America (Photo: Chris Owens)

Lap 8, Hunter-Reay and Rahal run even into turn five. Hunter-Reay cooks the entry and Rahal moves to 2nd.

Newgarden has broken away from the field.

Josef Newgarden at Road America - NTT Indycar Series
Josef Newgarden at Road America – NTT Indycar Series (Photo: Joe Skibinski)

Pit stops

Lap 13, Will Power is in to begin the first pit cycle. Lap 14, Newgarden is in from the race lead. Rahal is in on the next lap.

Newgarden cycles back to the race lead. Ferrucci jumps to 2nd but trails by 9 seconds. Power runs third. Both of those drivers pitted a lap earlier than the leader.

Lap 28, Newgarden leads Ferrucci by 8 seconds.

Lap 28, Newgarden is back in for his second stop. He stalls on the pit lane! He re-fires but Newgarden will drop out of the race lead.

Lap 28, Power and Dixon swap the 4th position as Power drives it deep into turn five. Power locks it up under braking, the car jumps sideways but Dixon gives him room. Power holds the position.

Will Power at Road America - NTT Indycar Series
Will Power at Road America – NTT Indycar Series (Photo: Chris Owens)

Lap 30, Ericsson pits from the race lead. Will Power has cycled to the race lead. Newgarden is buried in 12th.

Lap 38, Jack Harvey is stuck in the gravel trap after running inside the top five. The yellow flag is out.

Final pit stop

The entire field hits the pit lane. Power is first in and Dixon wins the race to the pit exit! It was a slow stop for Power as they were slow on the rear tires.

More trouble under yellow! Marco Andretti has come to a stop, no power.

Scott Dixon at Road America - NTT Indycar Series
Scott Dixon at Road America – NTT Indycar Series (Photo: Chris Owens)

Green, Dixon leads them into turn one.

14 to go, Daly and O’Ward fight for space in a tight, single lane corner. Daly is clipped in the right rear and the car jumps sideways at 130mph. He nearly saved it but he had no runoff room. Daly slams the wall and the yellow is back out.

“My shoulder hurts,” Daly says on the radio.

Green, Dixon leads. Palou forces his way inside of Ryan Hunter-Reay for 3rd. Hunter-Reay forces him all the way to the grass and a narrow entry into turn one, Palou completes the pass.

Kellett is in the gravel trap behind them and the caution is back out.

Palou will have to make the pass for 3rd one more time. Officials went back to the last scoring.

8 laps to go

Green, Dixon leads into turn one. Palou passes Hunter-Reay on the outside into turn one for 3rd.

3 to go, Rossi is slow. After banging wheels, the left front is broken.

2 to go, Dixon leads Power by 2.3 seconds.

Scott Dixon wins at Road America!

View full Indycar results from Road America below.

Scott Dixon and Chip Ganassi in victory lane at Road America
Scott Dixon and Chip Ganassi in victory lane at Road America (Photo: Chris Owens)

Road America Results
July 11, 2020
NTT Indycar Series

Pos | Driver

1. Scott Dixon
2. Will Power
3. Alex Palou
4. Ryan Hunter-Reay
5. Colton Herta
6. Santino Ferrucci
7. Graham Rahal
8. Pato O’Ward
9. Takuma Sato
10. Marcus Ericsson
11. Charlie Kimball
12. Simon Pagenaud
13. Rinus VeeKay
14. Josef Newgarden
15. Oliver Askew
16. Zach Veach
17. Max Chilton
18. Felix Rosenqvist
19. Alexander Rossi
20. Dalton Kellett
21. Conor Daly
22. Marco Andretti
23. Jack Harvey

Scott Dixon at Road America - Indycar Series
Scott Dixon at Road America – Indycar Series (Photo: Chris Owens)
Indycar Point Standings

After: Road America (July 11, 2020)

Pos | Driver | Wins | Points

1. Scott Dixon (3 Wins)

2. Simon Pagenaud

3. Colten Herta

4. Josef Newgarden

5. Graham Rahal

6. Ryan Hunter-Reay

7. Will Power

8. Patricio O’Ward

9. Zach Veach

10. Marcus Ericsson

11. Santino Ferrucci

12. Rinus VeeKay

13. Conor Daly

14. Alex Palou

15. Charlie Kimball

16. Takuma Sato

17. Oliver Askew

18. Felix Rosenqvist

19. Jack Harvey

20. Marco Andretti

21. James Hinchcliffe

22. Alexander Rossi

23. Ed Carpenter

24. Max Chilton

25. Tony Kanaan

26. Dalton Kellett

27. Sage Karam

28. Spencer Pigot


Indycar | Road America