INDYCAR Race Results: September 19, 2021 (Laguna Seca)

Indycar results from the Monterey Grand Prix at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca

Today, the NTT Indycar Series unloads in Monterey, California for the seconds to last race of the 2021 season. Laguna Seca is a 2.238-mile course with 300 feet in elevation change.

View Indycar race results from Laguna Seca below.

Indycar Menu: Monterey
TV Schedule | Qual | Race

Related: Romain Grosjean crashed the pace car at Laguna Seca (Video)

Colton Herta and Alexander Rossi lead the field to the starting line. 95 laps of open wheel racign are up next.

Laguna Seca - Indycar Series
Laguna Seca – Indycar Series (Photo: Joe Skibinski)

Laguna Seca
Race Report

Green, Rossi has a run into turn one. He dives to the outside and noses ahead but Herta clears him off the corner with the preferred into groove.

Felix Rosenqvist spins behind them, no caution.

Lap 2, Herta drops a wheel and Rossi looks to the inside. Rossi runs wide off the corner and bangs wheels with Herta. Rossi spins off the track and stalls the machine. The caution is out.

Green, Herta leads Power into turn one.

Lap 10, Will Power pits from 2nd. This is an early stop as the crew goes to work on the engine.

Lap 16, Rosenqvist spins down the corkscrew, no caution.

Pit stops

Lap 19, Herta pits from the race lead.

A lap later, Grosjean and Ed Jones pit. Herta cycles back to the race lead. Palou trails by 2 seconds.

Lap 25, Pato O’Ward dives inside of Newgarden for 3rd. He runs Newgarden wide and Newgarden loses a ton of spots as the train drives by.

Lap 26, Palou struggles with the lap car of Rossi. Graham Rahal dives to the inside just ahead of the corkscrew and takes 2nd away.

Lap 36, Palou trails Herta by 5 seconds. Palou is skating all over the track on the worn soft red tires.

Takuma Sato spins through the corkscrew. Scott Dixon comes into the scene with nowhere to go and Sato backs right into him. Both drivers continue but with damage.

Scott Dixon in dirt at Laguna Seca - Indycar Series
Scott Dixon in dirt at Laguna Seca – Indycar Series (Photo: Chris Jones)

Pit stops

Lap 40, Palou pits from 2nd. He elects for the header black tires.

Lap 43, Herta pits from the lead. Herta cycles back out with the lead by 2.5 seconds.

Lap 50, Herta leads Palou by 1 second.

Lap 60, Herta works heavy lap traffic. However, Palou is struggling with the same traffic. A lap car stands between them.

Lap 66, Herta clears the traffic and opens the gap to 4 seconds.

Colton Herta - Laguna Seca - Indycar Series
Colton Herta – Laguna Seca – Indycar Series (photo: James Black)

Pit stops

Lap 67, Palou hits the pit lane for his final stop.

Lap 69, Herta pit from the race lead. He cycles out 2 seconds ahead of Palou.

Lap 72, Herta has a run on Grosjean. He drives right by with fresher tires to return to the lead.

20 to go, Herta leads Palou by 6 seconds.

14 to go, Herta hits a rabbit! Light wing damage for the leader. Grosjean is closing quickly on Rahal in the battle for 3rd.

Romain Grosjean - Laguna Seca - Indycar Series
Romain Grosjean – Laguna Seca – Indycar Series (Photo: Chris Jones)

12 to go, Grosjean dives to the inside of Rahal in turn one. He came from four car lengths back to complete that pass under braking. He trails Palou by 10 seconds.

7 to go, Grosjean drives it deep into the corkscrew on the lap car of Jimmie Johnson. Johnson was told on the radio to make it difficult on Grosjean. Instead, Grosjean jumps over the curb and two wheels it into the side of Johnson and Grosjean is clear.

4 to go, Grosjean is slcing through the lap cars. He’s cut the gap to Palou to just 3 seconds. However, the damage has slowed Grosjean’s pace.

At the front, Colton Herta wins at Laguna Seca!

Colton Herta in victory lane
Colton Herta in victory lane (Photo: Joe Skibinski)

Laguna Seca Results
September 19, 2021
NTT Indycar Series

Pos | Driver

1. Colton Herta
2. Alex Palou
3. Roamin Grosjean
4. Graham Rahal
5. Pato O’Ward
6. Marcus Ericsson
7. Josef Newgarden
8. Simon Pagenaud
9. Oliver Askew
10. Ed Jones
11. Ryan Hunter-Reay
12. Scott McLaughlin
13. Scott Dixon
14. Sebastien Bourdais
15. Jack Harvey
16. Conor Daly
17. Jimmie Johnson
18. Rinus VeeKay
19. Felix Rosenqvist
20. James Hinchcliffe
21. Max Chilton
22. Callum Ilott
23. Dalton Kellett
24. Helio Castroneves
25. Alexander Rossi
26. Will Power
27. Takuma Sato

Indycar Series - Laguna Seca
Indycar Series – Laguna Seca (Photo: Chris Owens)

Point Standings

After: Laguna Seca

Pos | Driver | Points

1. Alex Palou

2. Pato O’Ward

3. Josef Newgarden

4. Scott Dixon

5. Marcis Ericsson

6. Colton Herta

7. Graham Rahal

8. Simon Pagenaud

9. Will Power

10. Alexander Rossi

Laguna Seca
Video Highlights
September 19, 2021

WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca | Indycar