Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series set for four races in Ohio

Ohio swing is up next for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

BATAVIA, OH (June 27th, 2018) – The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series continues their season this weekend with a four-race swing through Ohio. The four events begin a busy July stretch comprised of 13 events from June 30th until July 21st.

The Ohio invasion kicks off on Saturday, June 30th at Portsmouth Raceway Park, then continues to Mansfield Motor Speedway on Sunday, Sharon Speedway on Monday, and concludes with the traditional July 3rd event at Muskingum County Speedway on Tuesday.

The weekend will include four complete programs of: Miller Welders Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains, and a 50-lap, $12,000-to-win main event – setting up an action-packed weekend with over $190,000 in total purse up for grabs.

In 2017, Josh Richards went to Victory Lane at Portsmouth Raceway Park, Mansfield Motor Speedway, and Sharon Speedway. The defending Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion commented: “It’s always a confidence booster when you go back to tracks where you have had success in the past. I’m definitely looking forward to this next swing. I really enjoy the racing style in the northern region.”

The stars of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will battle some of the toughest local and regional standouts in Ohio. “The competition will certainly be tough, but I feel like we’ve hit on some things lately to make the car better. I’m excited to get back racing,” Richards added.

Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Georgia leads three-time champion, Scott Bloomquist in the battle for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Championship. Josh Richards is third, followed by four-time champion, Earl Pearson Jr. Bobby Pierce rounds out the top-five in the current championship standings.

Track Information:

Portsmouth Raceway Park
Phone Number: 740-354-3278
Track Promoter: Donna Rayburn
Location: 25648 State Route 73, West Portsmouth, OH 45663
Directions: 0.5 mile south of US 52 on SR 73, then right just before bridge.

Mansfield Motor Speedway
Phone Number: 419-465-RACE (7223)
Tracks Promoter: Cody Sommer
Location: 545 Crall Rd E, Mansfield, OH 44903
Directions: I-71 Exit 176, West on Hwy 30, Exit 5th Ave and turn right, Right on S Olivesburg Rd, left on Crall Rd E, track entrance on left.

Sharon Speedway
Phone Number: (330) 772-5481
Track Promoter: Dave Willoughby
Location: 3241 Custer-Orangeville Road NE, Burghill, OH 44404
Directions: I-80 Exit 234 (Turn Right from I-80E, Turn Left from I-80W), Continue for 9.8 miles North on SR-7, then turn right (east) on SR-305/Youngstown Kingsville Road, after 1 mile turn right (south) onto Custer-Orangeville Road, track is 0.3 miles on Right.

Muskingum County Speedway
Tracks Promoter: Donnie Moran
Location: 7985 Frazeysburg Road, Dresden, OH 43821
Directions: I-70 to exit 155, then 10.1 miles north on SR 60 (WSR).

Tire Rule for June 30th – July 3rd:
Left Rear/Fronts – Hoosier Rib 28.5 1300
Right Rear – Hoosier 01, 04

*Must use the same set of 4 tires for Time Trials, Heat Races, and B-Main.
*For the A-Main, competitors may use 2 new rear tires.
*Cutting and/or siping of any tire IS allowed.

Event Purse (Each Night): 1. $12,000, 2. $5,500, 3. $3,500, 4. $2,750, 5. $2,250, 6. $1,800, 7. $1,500, 8. $1,300, 9. $1,200, 10. $1,100, 11. $1,075, 12. $1,050, 13. $1,025, 14. $1,000, 15. $1,000, 16. $1,000, 17. $1,000, 18. $1,000, 19. $1,000, 20. $1,000, 21. $1,000, 22. $1,000, 23. $1,000, 24. $1,000

For the latest breaking news concerning the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, including the latest series standings, 2018 tour schedule, driver information, and more visit the official website at:

— Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series —