Texas Race Results: June 6, 2020 (Indycar Series)

Indycar Series results from the season opener at Texas Motor Speedway

Tonight, the NTT Indycar Series drops the green flag on their 2020 season. Texas Motor Speedway hosts the season opener, in June.

View Indycar race results below.

Texas Menu: Indycar
TV/Info | Prac | Qual | Race

The aeroscreen has been in development for years. Tonight, that new safety element makes it’s debut.

Tires: There’s a mandatory limit of 35 green flag laps on these tires.

Crews for Ryan Hunter-Reay and Alexander Rossi are thrashing to fix something on both cars just seconds ahead of the start. Takuma Sato is unable to clear tech inspection after a crash in qualifying.

Josef Newgarden and Scott Dixon line up on the front row. They head for the starting line and 200 laps of open wheel racing are up next…

Indycar Series at Texas Motor Speedway
Indycar Series at Texas Motor Speedway (Photo: Joe Skibinski)

Indycar Race

Green flag, Newgarden leads into turn one. Scott Dixon holds 2nd.

Lap 5, Ryan Hunter-Reay and Alexander Rossi are both forced to serve a pass through penalty for unapproved adjustments.

Lap 35, Dixon has taken the lead after a round of green flag pit stops. Newgarden holds 2nd.

Lap 38, the caution is out with a crash on the backstretch. Rinus VeeKay spun in the marbles off turn two. As he came down the banking, he clipped Alex Palou as Palou was exiting the pit lane on the apron.

 Scott Dixon at Texas Motor Speedway - NTT Indycar Series
Scott Dixon at Texas Motor Speedway – NTT Indycar Series (Photo: Joe Skibinski)

Lap 50

Green, Dixon leads. The groove is narrow today along the inside lane. The outside lane have PJ1 traction compound from last year’s NASCAR race, it’s slippery at this point.

Lap 53, Pagenaud is on the bumper of Newgarden for 2nd. Dixon has opened to a 3 second lead.

Lap 60, Conor Daly has cracked the top 10. He’s the biggest mover so far.

Lap 75, Dixon is driving away and currently leads Newgarden by 8 full seconds.

Lap 76, Felix Rosenqvist enters turn one high. He then crosses down the banking and under Pagenaud for 3rd. The track is narrow and that was flawless.

Lap 77, the caution is out for debris.

The field hits the pit lane for the second round of stops. Newgarden wins the race to the pit exit. Will Power pulls out of his box without a right rear. Power stops immediately, the crew installs the crucial piece and he’ll restart at the rear.

Green, Newgarden leads as Rosenqvist and Dixon run side by side for 2nd. Dixon completes the pass for 2nd on the outside into turn one!

Lap 91, Dixon has a tow on Newgarden down the front stretch. Newgarden pivots to the bottom in the tri-oval and Dixon rolls the outside lane. Dixon drives by on the outside in turn one!

Dixon is gone!

Scott Dixon at Texas Motor Speedway - Indycar Series
Scott Dixon at Texas Motor Speedway – Indycar Series (Photo: Joe Skibinski)


Running Order: 1. Scott Dixon; 2. Josef Newgarden; 3. Felix Rosenqvist; 4. Simon Pagenaud; 5. Zach Veach; 6. Charlie Kimball; 7. Ed Carpenter; 8. Marco Andretti; 9. Colton Herta; 10. Conor Daly;

Lap 122, the third pit cycle is complete. Dixon now leads Rosenqvist by 4 seconds. He quickly opens the gap to 8 seconds!

Lap 150, Rosenqvist has cut the gap to under 2 seconds as Dixon works lap traffic.

Lap 160, Santino Ferrucci is on the pit lane with mechanical issues.

Lap 167, Rosenqvist has closed the gap to 0.4 seconds! Dixon is just ahead.

Lap 175

15 to go, Rosenqvist pits from 2nd for the final time.

11 to go, Dixon pits from the race lead.

10 to go, Rosenqvist is in heavy lap traffic! He looks to the outside of Hinchcliffe but he gets into the dirty lane of the track. Rosenqvist wiggles and he can’t save it. 2nd place is in the wall and the caution is out!

Green, Dixon leads with several laps cars between him and 2nd.

Scott Dixon wins the Indycar race at Texas Motor Speedway!

View full Texas Indycar results below.

Scott Dixon in victory lane at Texas Motor Speedway - Indycar Series
Scott Dixon in victory lane at Texas Motor Speedway – Indycar Series (Photo: Chris Owens)

Texas Motor Speedway
Race Results
June 6, 2020
NTT Indycar Series

Pos | Driver

1. Scott Dixon
2. Simon Pagenaud
3. Josef Newgarden
4. Zach Veach
5. Ed Carpenter
6. Conor Daly
7. Colton Herta
8. Ryan Hunter-Reay
9. Oliver Askew
10. Tony Kanaan
11. Charlie Kimball
12. Pato O’Ward
13. Will Power
14. Marco Andretti
15. Alexander Rossi
16. Jack Harvey
17. Graham Rahal
18. James Hicnhcliffe
19. Marcus Ericsson
20. Felix Rosenqvist
21. Santino Ferrucci
22. Rinus VeeKay
23. Alex Palou
24. Takuma Sato


Texas Motor Speedway | Indycar