Two NASCAR truck teams penalized ahead of the race at Talladega Superspeedway

Dual L1 penalties have been issued

Today, the NASCAR Truck Series will take to Talladega Superspeedway. The race at the 2.5-mile track is an elimination round in the NTS Playoffs.

10 drivers remain eligible in the NGROTS Playoffs. Only 8 trucks will remain after today’s event.

Ahead of the race, all teams roll through inspection.

NASCAR inspection violation for truck bed at Talladega

Two teams were caught with the same violation.

The No. 52 Halmar Friesen Racing Toyota driven by Stewart Friesen and the No. 9 CR7 Motorsports Chevrolet driven by Codie Rohrbaugh both failed inspection.

Each team was found in violation of section 20.4.12.c of the NASCAR rule book. That section is regarding the bed cover of the truck.

Per the rules, “Vent holes at the truck bed top must be configured for air intake only.”

The No. 59 and No. 9 teams are each penalized 20 driver and 20 owner points. Before the penalties, Friesen sat 14th in points while Rohrbaugh was 21st.

Both crew chiefs have been suspended for today’s Talladega truck race. Trip Bruce III is the crew chief of the No. 52 while Doug George leads the No. 9 team.

Related: Talladega starting lineup for October 3, 2020 (NASCAR Truck Series)


Stewart Freisen | Codie Rohrbaugh | Talladega SuperSpeedway | NASCAR