Michigan Results: August 7, 2023 (NASCAR Cup Series)

NASCAR results from Michigan International Speedway

NASCAR Cup Series drivers are on the grid in Brooklyn, Michigan. Following a brief rain delay, the 2-mile of Michigan International Speedway is set to host the Firekeepers Casino 400.

View Michigan results for the NASCAR Cup Series below.

Michigan Menu
ARCA: Prac/Qual | Race
Xfinity: Prac/Qual | Race
Cup: Prac/Qual | Race

Michigan TV Schedule

Christopher Bell and Ross Chastain set the front row. 200 laps of stock car racing are up next…

Stage 1 – Report

NASCAR Cup Series - Michigan International Speedway (1)
Credit: BROOKLYN, MICHIGAN – AUGUST 06: Ty Gibbs, driver of the #54 Monster Energy Toyota, and Martin Truex Jr., driver of the #19 Auto-Owners Insurance Toyota, lead the field to a restart during the NASCAR Cup Series FireKeepers Casino 400 at Michigan International Speedway on August 06, 2023 in Brooklyn, Michigan. (Photo by Meg Oliphant/Getty Images)

Laps: 45 (1-45 / 200)

Green flag, Gibbs shoves Chastain to the lead in turn one.

Lap 15, Kyle Busch gets loose under Ryan Blaney. Busch spins, slams the wall and the caution is out.

Chastain pits from the lead. Half the field stay out, Martin Truex Jr takes over the lead.

Green, Ty Gibbs gets loose under Truex Jr into turn one. Truex Jr leads off turn two.

Lap 35, Chase Elliott blows a right rear tire and backs it hard into the outside wall. The caution is out.

Green with 6 to go in stage one, Truex Jr leads Bubba Wallace off turn two.

Martin Truex Jr wins stage one at Michigan International Speedway! Byron brushes the wall off turn four!

Michigan Results (Stage 1) : 1. Martin Truex Jr; 2. Bubba Wallace; 3. Ty Gibbs; 4. Brad Keselowski; 5. Kyle Larson; 6. Daniel Suarez; 7. Alex Bowman; 8. Denny Hamlin; 9. Erik Jones; 10. Corey LaJoie;

Stage 2 – Report

Laps: 75 (46-120 / 200)

Byron is done for the day after contact with the wall. Truex Jr and the rest of the leaders head for the pit lane. Many stay out as they pitted on the last caution. Alex Bowman and Erik Jones take over the front row.

Green flag on stage two, Hamlin shoves Bowman into turn one. Erik Jones fights for the spot on the inside. Jones runs Bowman wide into turn three. Josh Berry is around behind them, caution.

Green, Bowman is clear into turn one as they run side by side for 2nd. Bell wins the battle for 2nd off turn two.

Lap 64

Christopher Bell spins - NASCAR Cup Series - Michigan International Speedway (1)
Credit: BROOKLYN, MICHIGAN – AUGUST 06: Christopher Bell, driver of the #20 Rheem Toyota, spins in front of Erik Jones, driver of the #43 Allegiant Chevrolet, after an on-track incident during the NASCAR Cup Series FireKeepers Casino 400 at Michigan International Speedway on August 06, 2023 in Brooklyn, Michigan. (Photo by Meg Oliphant/Getty Images)

Lap 64, Bell has a run on Bowman off turn four. He looks inside into turn one, they rub doors and Bell is around as he gets loose on the inside. Bell tags the wall, caution.

Green, Reddick looks inside of Bowman into turn one. Reddick wins the race off turn two via the inside lane.

Lap 74, the red flag is out due to rain.

A day later…

Reddick, Bowman and many of the leaders hit the pit lane.

Green, Truex Jr gets the jump and leads Austin Cindric off turn two.

Lap 83, Bubba Wallace has a run into turn one. Wallace to the lead.

Lap 99, Truex Jr has a run on Wallace off turn four. Truex Jr returns to the lead.

Lap 102, Ryan Preece has a flat right rear. The caution is out.

Truex Jr hits the pit lane.

Green, Suarez clears Wallace into turn three. Austin Dillon tags the wall behind them.

Lap 109, Wallace and Keselowski rub for 2nd. Truex Jr is flying through the field with new tires.

1 to go in stage two, Suarez throws a block on Truex Jr coming to the line. Truex Jr cuts inside and they run side by side to the line.

Martin Truex Jr wins stage two at Michigan International Speedway!

Michigan Results (Stage 2) : 1. Martin Truex Jr; 2. Daniel Suarez; 3. Brad Keselowski; 4. Bubba Wallace; 5. Alex Bowman; 6. Kyle Larson; 7. Joey Logano; 8. AJ Allmendinger; 9. Austin Cindric; 10. Chris Buescher;

Stage 3 – Report

Laps: 80 (121-200 / 200)

Truex Jr wins the race to the pit lane. Many cars stay out, Truex Jr restarts 10th.

Green flag on stage three, Buescher clears Reddick before turn one. Todd Gilliland is stuffed into the wall off turn two. As they check up, Alex Bowman gets turned down the backstretch, caution!

44 to go, Buescher and Reddick pit under green. Reddick exits ahead of Buescher but the right rear comes loose and Reddick returns to the pit lane.

18 to go, Buescher cycles back to the lead. Truex Jr is all over his bumper in the battle for the win. Truex Jr is exploring lanes and look for a way by.

13 to go, Truex Jr dives inside of Buescher. They run side by side for the lead. A lap later, Truex Jr gets loose under Buescher, Truex Jr has to lift and Buescher holds the lead.

8 to go, Todd Gilliland pits with a flat left rear, no caution.

4 to go, Truex Jr has climbed back to the bumper of Buescher! Buescher is trying to keep him in dirty air.

1 to go, Buescher leads Truex by two car lengths into turn one. Truex Jr closes to within a car length off turn four.

Chris Buescher holds him off and wins at Michigan International Speedway!

Michigan International Speedway
August 7, 2023
NASCAR Cup Series

Pos | Driver

1. Chris Buescher

2. Martin Truex Jr

3. Denny Hamlin

4. Brad Keselowski

5. Kyle Larson

6. Daniel Suarez

7. Ross Chastain

8. Kevin Harvick

9. Ryan Blaney

10. Erik Jones

11. Ty Gibbs

12. Austin Cindric

13. Christopher Bell

14. Joey Logano

15. Corey LaJoie

16. Aric Almirola

17. Harrison Burton

18. Bubba Wallace

19. Austin Dillon

20. Ty Dillon

21. Ricky Stenhouse Jr

22. Ryan Preece

23. Justin Haley

24. Michael McDowell

25. Cole Custer

26. AJ Allmendinger

27. JJ Yeley

28. Austin Hill

29. Todd Gilliland

30. Tyler Reddick

31. Chase Briscoe

32. Josh Bilicki

33. Alex Bowman

34. Josh Berry

35. William Byron

36. Chase Elliott

37. Kyle Busch

NASCAR Cup Series
Point Standings

Pos | Driver | Wins / Points | Playoff Points

1. William Byron
4 Wins | 22PP

2. Martin Truex Jr
3 Wins | 20PP

3. Kyle Busch
3 Wins | 17PP

4. Denny Hamlin
2 Wins | 14PP

5. Kyle Larson
2 Wins | 13PP

6. Chris Buescher
2 Wins | 11PP

7. Ross Chastain
1 Win | 10PP

8. Tyler Reddick
1 Win | 9PP

9. Ryan Blaney
1 Win | 8PP

10. Joey Logano
1 Win | 8PP

11. Christopher Bell
1 Win | 7PP

12. Ricky Stenhouse Jr
1 Win | 5PP

13. Kevin Harvick

14. Brad Keselowski

15. Bubba Wallace

16. Ty Gibbs

— Playoff Cutline —

17. Michael McDowell

18. Daniel Suarez

19. AJ Allmendinger

20. Alex Bowman

Michigan International Speedway
Video Highlights

Michigan International Speedway | NASCAR