Watkins Glen Starting Lineup: August 2021 (NASCAR Cup Series)

NASCAR starting positions for Watkins Glen International

NASCAR returns for the first time in two weeks. Watkins Glen International is set to welcome the NASCAR Cup Series for the first time since 2019. The NASCAR starting positions are already set.

View the NASCAR starting lineup for the Cup Series at Watkins Glen below.

Watkins Glen Menu: NASCAR
Entries | TV Schedule | ARCA Lineup | ARCA Race | Truck Lineup | Truck Race | Xfinity Lineup | Xfinity Race | Cup Lineup | Cup Race

Team Penske has locked out the front row. Brad Keselowski rolls from the pole position as Joey Logano lines up alongside.

How they set the Cup lineup for Watkins Glen International

There’s no qualifying or practice sessions this weekend. Instead, the field has been set via a weighted system with multiple factors at play.

NASCAR’s metrics formula for 2021:

25 percent: Driver’s finishing position from the previous race.

25 percent: Car owner’s finishing position from the previous race.

35 percent: Team owner points ranking.

15 percent: Fastest lap from the previous race.

NASCAR Cup Series
Starting Lineup
August 8, 2021
Watkins Glen International

Start Pos | Car No | Driver | Team | Sponsor

1. #2 Brad Keselowski
Team Penske
Wabash National

2. #22 Joey Logano
Team Penske
Verizon 5G

3. #12 Ryan Blaney
Team Penske
DEX Imaging

4. #5 Kyle Larson
Hendrick Motorsports

5. #4 Kevin Harvick
Stewart-Haas Racing
Busch Light Apple

6. #11 Denny Hamlin
Joe Gibbs Racing
FedEx Express

7. #20 Christopher Bell
Joe Gibbs Racing

8. #10 Aric Almirola
Stewart-Haas Racing
Go Bowling

9. #19 Martin Truex Jr
Joe Gibbs Racing
Reser’s Fine Foods

10. #48 Alex Bowman
Hendrick Motorsports

11. #9 Chase Elliott
Hendrick Motorsports
Napa Auto Parts

12. #42 Ross Chastain
Chip Ganassi Racing
MyMcDonald’s Rewards

13. #8 Tyler Reddick
Richard Childress Racing

14. #21 Matt DiBenedetto
Wood Brothers Racing
Menards / Moen

15. #24 William Byron
Hendrick Motorsports

16. #3 Austin Dillon
Richard Childress Racing

17. #1 Kurt Busch
Chip Ganassi Racing
Monster Energy

18. #47 Ricky Stenhouse Jr
JTG Daugherty Racing
Kroger / Bush’s Beans

19. #41 Cole Custer
Stewart-Haas Racing

20. #18 Kyle Busch
Joe Gibbs Racing

21. #99 Daniel Suarez
Trackhouse Racing
Good Sam

22. #43 Erik Jones
Richard Petty Motorsports
Clean Harbors

23. #37 Ryan Preece
JTG Daugherty Racing

24. #17 Chris Buescher
Roush Fenway Racing

25. #34 Michael McDowell
Front Row Motorsports

26. #23 Bubba Wallace
23XI Racing

27. #14 Chase Briscoe
Stewart-Haas Racing

28. #6 Ryan Newman
Roush Fenway Racing

29. #7 Corey LaJoie
Spire Motorsports

30. #77 Justin Haley
Spire Motorsports
Fraternal Order of Eagles

31. #38 Anthony Alfredo
Front Row Motorsports
Bence Motor Sales

32. #53 Garrett Smithley
Rick Ware Racing
Skip Barber Racing

33. #78 Kyle Tilley
Live Fast Motorsports
Bremont Chronometers

34. #52 Josh Bilicki
Rick Ware Racing

35. #00 Quin Houff
Starcom Racing

36. #51 James Davison
Petty Ware Racing
Nurtec ODT

37. #15 RC Enerson
Rick Ware Racing


Watkins Glen International | NASCAR