Long Beach Race Results: April 10, 2022 (Indycar Series)

Indycar results from the Grand Prix of Long Beach

Today, the NTT Indycar Series goes racing on the streets of Long Beach, California. It’s the famed Grand Prix of Long Beach.

View the Long Beach race results for the Indycar Series below.

Long Beach Menu
TV Schedule | Prac/Qual | Race

Colton Herta and Josef Newgarden lead them to the start. 85 laps of open wheel racing are up next…

Jimmie Johnson injures hand in Long Beach crash (Video)

Race Report

Green flag, Herta is clear into turn one. Newgarden and Palou run side by side for 2nd, Newgarden holds that spot under braking in turn 6.

Lap 6, Dalton Kellett slams the wall after a lockup. He’s stalled and the caution is out.

Lap 20, Herta leads Newgarden by 1.5 seconds.

Lap 21, Alexander Rossi throws it deep under braking on Rosenqvist. They make contact, Rosenqvist is shoved wide and Rossi takes 4th away.

Lap 25, Marcus Ericsson has a run on Rossi for 4th. He dives to the inside in turn 6, clear. Moments later, Grosjean also moves by Rossi.

Lap 30

Lap 30, Herta pits from the race lead. Newgarden pits the following lap. Newgarden cycles out ahead of Herta! Herta is all over his bumper but he can’t find a way by.

Alex Palou has jumped them both with an even faster pit stop. The crew alone was nearly 2 seconds faster than Herta’s crew, plus a 1 second faster pit-in lap.

Lap 35, Devlin DeFrancesco tags the wall and breaks his left rear. He spins but he’s able to make it back to the pit lane, no caution.

Lap 50, Palou leads Newgarden by 2 seconds.

Lap 55, Palou pits from the race lead. Newgarden stays out for now.

Lap 56, Colton Herta is in the wall from 3rd! He locked up the front tires on corner entry, ran wide and slammed the wall on corner exit. He pulls it to a safety area, no caution yet. But, there’s debris all over the track.

Many cars dive for the pit lane, anticipating a caution.

Lap 58, Newgarden hits the pit lane. He cycles out just ahead of Palou.

Palou dives to his inside in turn five! They run side by side, Newgarden holds him off on via the outside!

Lap 60

Lap 60, Simon Pagenaud and Takuma Sato run side by side into turn two. They fight for space, bang pods and Pagenaud has spun in the fountain corner. He stomps the gas and attempts to drive over the fountain garden but gets stuck! The caution is out.

Green flag with 19 laps to go. Newgarden leads Palou and Ericsson. Ericsson is in the wall off turn four! Dixon clips him on the way by as Ericsson pulls off the track. Romain Grosjean takes over 3rd.

17 to go, Grosjean has a run on Palou. He noses ahead under braking but he’s on the outside, Palou holds 2nd.

16 to go, Grosjean has another run into turn one. He looks to the outside once more and he clears Palou before the corner! Grosjean to 2nd. Grosjean is the only car in this battle on the softer red tires.

15 to go, Newgarden runs wide off turn five! Grosjean pulls alongside but Newgarden holds him off into turn 6.

10 to go, Jimmie Johnson spins with help from David Malukas. They both slam the wall and the caution is out.

Green flag with 5 to go, Newgarden leads but Grosjean looks to his outside in turn 1. He can’t complete the pass, Newgarden still leads.

2 to go, Newgarden leads Rosjean and Palou. They’re each separated by just two car lengths.

1 to go, Takuma Sato is stuck in the tire wall, caution.

Josef Newgarden wins the Grand Prix of Long Beach!

Grand Prix of Long Beach
Race Results
April 10, 2022
Indycar Series

Pos | Driver

1. Josef Newgarden
2. Romain Grosjean
3. Alex Palou
4. Will Power
5. Pato O’Ward
6. Scott Dixon
7. Graham Rahal
8. Alexander Rossi
9. Helio Castroneves
10. Kyle Kirkwood
11. Felix Rosenqvist
12. Conor Daly
13. Rinus VeeKay
14. Scott McLaughlin
15. Jack Harvey
16. Tatiana Calderon
17. Takuma Sato
18. C. Lundgaard
19. Simon Pagenaud
20. Jimmie Johnson
21. David Malukas
22. Marcus Ericsson
23. Colton Herta
24. Callum Ilott
25. Devlin DeFrancesco
26. Dalton Kellett

Point Standings

Pos | Driver | Points

1. Josef Newgarden

2. Scott McLaughlin

3. Alex Palou

4. Will Power

5. Scott Dixon

6. Romain Grosjean

7. Rinus VeeKay

8. Marcus Ericsson

9. Pato O’Ward

10. Graham Rahal


Grand Prix of Long Beach | Indycar