Iowa Results: July 23, 2023 (Indycar Series)

Indycar race results from Sunday at Iowa Speedway

Indycar Series drivers are back on the grid for the second race of the weekend in Newton, Iowa. The 0.75-mile of Iowa Speedway is set to host the Hy-Vee One Step 250.

View Iowa results for the Indycar Series below.

Iowa Menu
TV Schedule | Qual | Race 1 | Race 2

Will Power and Scott McLaughlin set the front row. 250 laps of open wheel racing are up next…

Race Report

Green flag, Power is clear before turn one. O’Ward rolls to lane three and drives by multiple cars at once behind them.

Lap 29, McLaughlin dives inside of Power for the race lead. He gets boxed in behind lap traffic, Power holds the lead. Josef Newgarden closes in on both of them.

Lap 31, Newgarden works inside of McLaughlin for 2nd. Power bobbles and Newgarden moves from 3rd to the race lead.

Lap 60, the first green flag pit cycle is complete. Newgarden leads McLaughlin by 3 seconds.

Lap 88, Canapino runs wide and brushes the wall. The caution is out.

Green, McLaughlin has a look inside of Newgarden for the lead but he can’t complete the pass.

Lap 144, Sato is on the pit lane with a bent toe link.

Lap 154, another green flag pit cycle is complete. Newgarden leads McLaughlin by 2.5 seconds.

Lap 157, Sting Ray Robb has lost the right rear wheel after a pit stop. The tire rolls into the racing line and the caution is out.

McLaughlin, O’Ward and others hit the pit lane.

Green, Newgarden leads Power.

Lap 173, McLaughlin is slicing through the field with 15 lap fresher tires. He’s climbed from 9th to 6th since the restart.

Lap 195, McLaughlin to 3rd.

Lap 199, another pit cycle is complete. Newgarden leads Rosenqvist.

25 to go, Newgarden leads Rosenqvist by 5 seconds.

11 to go, Ryan Hunter-Reay tags the wall to bring out the caution.

Green with 3 to go, Newgarden leads as Power runs Rosenqvist wide to take 2nd away.

Josef Newgarden wins at Iowa Speedway!

Iowa Speedway Results
July 23, 2023
Indycar Series
(Race 2)

Pos | Driver

1. Josef Newgarden

2. Will Power

3. Alex Palou

4. Felix Rosenqvist

5. Scott McLaughlin

6. Scott Dixon

7. Colton Herta

8. David Malukas

9. Marcus Ericsson

10. Pato O’Ward

11. Kyle Kirkwood

12. Romain Grosjean

13. Christian Lundgaard

14. Callum Ilott

15. Alexander Rossi

16. Helio Castroneves

17. Conor Daly

18. Rinus VeeKay

19. Jack Harvey

20. Graham Rahal

21. Devlin DeFrancesco

22. Santino Ferrucci

23. Ed Carpenter

24. Ryan Hunter-Reay

25. Takuma Sato

26. Agustin Canapino

27. Benjamin Pedersen

28. Sting Ray Robb

Indycar Series
Point Standings

After: 12 of 17 Races

1. Alex Palou

2. Josef Newgarden

3. Scott Dixon

4. Marcus Ericsson

5. Scott McLaughlin

6. Pato O’Ward

7. Will Power

8. Colton Herta

9. Christian Lundgaard

10. Alexander Rossi

Iowa Speedway
Video Highlights
July 23, 2023

Iowa Speedway | Indycar Series