First Non-American Manufacture Champion in NASCAR

Toyota is the First Foreign Auto Maker to Claim NASCAR Manufacture Championship

Heading into Homestead-Miami Speedway Toyota had a chance to make stock car racing history. They have now done it. Toyota has become the first foreign auto maker to win NASCAR Manufacture Championship.

At season’s end, Toyota led the 2016 NASCAR Manufacture Standings by 25 points over Chevrolet. Ford came in 3rd, 89 points behind Toyota.

Toyota secured its first-ever NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (NSCS) manufacturer’s championship with a sixth-place finish by Kyle Busch at Homestead-Miami Speedway on Sunday to capture the title in Toyota’s 10th year of Cup competition.

Camry drivers won 16-of-36 races to take the NSCS manufacturer’s championship in the season finale. The championship is the first manufacturer’s title for Toyota in the Cup Series, and Toyota has now secured the manufacturer’s title in all three NASCAR national touring series.

Related: Toyota Could Make Stock Car Racing History

2016 Denny Hamlin Toyota - 2016 NASCAR Manufactures Championship Points

“Capturing our first Cup Series manufacturer’s title is a tremendous accomplishment, and one that has been a goal for Toyota since entering the series 10 years ago as underdogs in this ultra-competitive series,” said Ed Laukes, Vice President of Integrated Marketing Operations for Toyota Motor Sales (TMS), U.S.A.

He continued, “With the partnership of great teams like Joe Gibbs Racing and Furniture Row Racing, Toyota has been able to breakthrough and become the first different manufacturer to earn this championship in 13 seasons.

Toyota has now won manufacturer’s championships in all three NASCAR national touring series, and to have reached this amazing milestone really speaks to Toyota’s commitment to not only NASCAR, but also to motorsports endeavors around the globe. We’re proud of the effort put forth by each of our Toyota teams, and all of the Toyota team members that have allowed us to reach this goal.”

Five Camry drivers collected 16 wins over 36 races during the 2016 season, including 12 wins by Joe Gibbs Racing and four by Furniture Row Racing. Busch and Martin Truex Jr. led the group with four wins a piece, while Carl Edwards (three victories), Denny Hamlin (two), and Matt Kenseth (two) also recorded triumphs in 2016.

In addition to securing the 2016 NSCS manufacturer’s championship, Toyota claimed the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS) manufacturer’s title at Phoenix International Raceway and the NASCAR XFINITY Series (NXS) manufacturer’s championship at Homestead. Toyota drivers also won multiple championships across the NASCAR national touring series, with Daniel Suarez winning the driver’s championship in the NXS and Kyle Busch Motorsports taking the owner’s title in the NCWTS.

Toyota first entered NSCS competition in 2007 and the 2016 season marks the Camry’s 10th year competing at NASCAR’s highest level. Since joining NSCS competition, Toyota has won 95 races and captured 90 poles in 360 races.

Author: Toyota Racing


2016 NASCAR Manufacture Championship Points

1 Toyota 1477
2 Chevrolet 1452 -25
3 Ford 1388 -89


2016 Toyota Racing Drivers

Photos: Chris Trotman/Jonathan Ferrey/Matt Sullivan/Jeff Zelevansky/Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images