Iowa Truck Results – June 23, 2017 – NCWTS

Iowa Speedway results from June 23, 2017 featuring the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series

Ben Rhodes was wrecking loose in stage 2. He was forced to pit from 5th. It was a great call, he was down to the cords. That call saved a trip to the wall.

Christopher Bell Iowa Speedway
Christopher Bell at Iowa Speedway in Newton, Iowa. (Photo by Daniel Shirey/Getty Images)

With just 8 laps remaining in stage 2, Christoper Bell and Grant Enfinger were the lone trucks to stay out after a late stage caution. The plan for Bell was to collect stage points. Enfinger was back to 4th before turn 1.

However, Christopher Bell somehow held off the field. On old tires. The caution came back out with 3 to go. Christopher Bell was forced to hit pit road. He pitted from the lead, just laps before the conclusion of stage 2. Johnny Sauter coasted to the stage 2 win.

More trouble for Ben Rhodes in stage 2. He was three side down the back straight away. The car at the bottom was clipped by the car in the middle. The bottom car was pointed directly toward the outside wall. Rhodes stopped him before he got there. Pancaked the left side of Rhodes.

With just 32 laps remaining in the race Ryan Truex hits pit road. It’s terminal, blown engine.

Chase Briscoe Iowa Speedway
Chase Briscoe at Iowa Speedway in Newton, Iowa. (Photo by Daniel Shirey/Getty Images)

18 laps to go, Chase Briscoe chasing down leader Johnny Sauter. He catches him in turn 3, drives around on the outside.

He only has 1 full year of stock car racing under his belt. That doesn’t matter, Chase Briscoe is at the front, week after week.

Caution. Matt Crafton is in the wall hard. Grant Enfinger closed on Matt Crafton quickly. He went to the inside, an alternative lane chosen from laps prior. Matt Crafton was taken by surprise, he came down on Enfinger. They connected, Crafton backed it up the banking and into the wall hard.

The entire field hit pit road, except Johnny Sauter. Less than 10 laps remain. Fresh tires line up row after row behind the leader. Joe Shear Jr crew chief of Sauter, “I think I made a mistake there.”

Green, 7 to go. Chase Briscoe to the bottom, Sauter high. 4 wide behind them. Sauter is carrying a ton of momentum off the top, Briscoe can’t get it done on the exit.

As those two run side-by-side, they slow each other down. John Hunter Nemechek is running them both down. He’s the first car that took 4 tires. Nemechek to the bottom, he clears them both. Makes it look easy, new leader.

3 to go, Briscoe is slipping. He’s under attack for 3rd. A whole collection of trucks move by him at once. 4 tires was the correct answer on the last pit stop.

John Hunter Nemecheck goes back to back in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. He wins at Iowa Speedway! He takes the same truck to victory lane.

John Hunter Nemechek Iowa Speedway Truck Results - NCWTS
NEWTON, IA – JUNE 23: John H. Nemechek, driver of the #8 FireAlarmServiceInc/RomcoEquipmentCo Chevrolet, takes the checkered flag to win the NASCAR Camping World Trucks Series M&M’s 200 presented by Casey’s General Stores at Iowa Speedway on June 23, 2017 in Newton, Iowa. (Photo by Jeff Curry/Getty Images)

Justin Haley and Harrison Burton wreck off turn 4 before the start finish line. Burton drove it in deep, battling for a top 5 run. He got loose, lost it. He then went backwards up the race track, collecting Haley.

Jordan Anderson finished 15th. Tying his best NASCAR Truck Series finish.

Related: Jordan Anderson uses Kenny Wallace’s dirt racing shop to prepare for Iowa Speedway 

View full Iowa Speedway NASCAR Truck Series results below.

Author: Shane Walters

Stage 1 Results
Iowa Speedway
June 23, 2017

1. Christopher Bell; 2. Noah Gragson; 3. Johnny Sauter; 4. Chase Briscoe; 5. Ben Rhodes; 6. Ryan Truex; 7. John Hunter Nemechek; 8. Justin Haley; 9. Grent Enfinger; 10. Austin Cindric;

Stage 2 Results
Iowa Speedway
June 23, 2017

1. Johnny Sauter; 2. Chase Briscoe; 3. John Hunter Nemechek; 4. Christopher Bell; 5. Noah Gragson; 6. Ryan Truex; 7. Austin Cindric; 8. Jesse Little; 9. Matt Crafton; 10. Brandon Jones;

Iowa Speedway Results
June 23, 2017

John Hunter Nemechek in NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Victory Lane
NEWTON, IA – JUNE 23: John H. Nemechek, driver of the #8 FireAlarmServiceInc/RomcoEquipmentCo Chevrolet, celebrates in Victory Lane after winning the NASCAR Camping World Trucks Series M&Ms 200 at Iowa Speedway on June 23, 2017 in Newton, Iowa. (Photo by Daniel Shirey/Getty Images)

1. John Hunter Nemechek
2. Johnny Sauter
3. Brandon Jones
4. Grant Enfinger
5. Christopher Bell
6. Noah Gragson
7. Chase Briscoe
8. Austin Cindric
9. Jesse Little
10. Justin Haley
11. Harrison Burton
12. Cody Coughlin
13. Scott Lagasse Jr
14. Ben Rhodes
15. Jordan Anderson
16. Trey Hutchens III
17. Wendell Chavous
18. Josh Reaume
19. Matt Crafton
20. Ryan Truex
21. Mike Senica
22. Norm Benning
23. Austin Wayne Self
24. Kaz Grala
25. Bryce Napier
26. Kyle Donahue
27. Ted Minor
28. Kevin Danahue
29. TJ Bell
30. Tyler Young
31. Joe Nemechek
32. JJ Haley


Iowa Speedway
Website | Facebook

Website | Facebook | TwitterInstagram

Shane Walters
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram