Bristol Starting Lineup: September 2021 (NASCAR Cup Series)

NASCAR starting positions for Bristol Motor Speedway; Playoff elimination race

This weekend, NASCAR unloads in Bristol, Tennessee. The half-mile of Bristol Motor Speedway has been converted back to a concrete oval for Playoff elimination.

View the 2021 Bristol starting lineup below.

Bristol Menu: NASCAR
TV Schedule | Entries | ARCA Practice | ARCA Race | Truck Lineup | Truck Race | Xfinity Lineup | Xfinity Race | Cup Lineup | Cup Race

Four races are on-deck for the weekend including the NASCAR Cup Series, Xfinity Series, Truck Series and ARCA Menards Series. It’s a playoff elimination race for the NASCAR Cup Series.

The starting grid is already set. Martin Truex Jr will roll from the pole position as Denny Hamlin completes the front row.

How they set the Cup lineup for Bristol Motor Speedway

There’s no qualifying or practice sessions this weekend. Instead, the field has been set via a weighted system with multiple factors at play.

NASCAR’s metrics formula for 2021:

–Playoff drivers: Playoff contenders lineup first.

25 percent: Driver’s finishing position from the previous race.

25 percent: Car owner’s finishing position from the previous race.

35 percent: Team owner points ranking.

15 percent: Fastest lap from the previous race.

NASCAR Cup Series
Starting Lineup
September 18, 2021
Bristol Motor Speedway

Start Pos | Car No | Driver | Team | Sponsor

1. #19 Martin Truex Jr
Joe Gibbs Racing
Bass Pro Shops Red White Blue

2. #11 Denny Hamlin
Joe Gibbs Racing
FedEx Ground

3. #22 Joey Logano
Team Penske
Shell Pennzoil

4. #9 Chase Elliott
Hendrick Motorsports
Kelley Blue Book

5. #5 Kyle Larson
Hendrick Motorsports

6. #20 Christopher Bell
Joe Gibbs Racing
Dewalt Salute First Responders

7. #12 Ryan Blaney
Team Penske
Advanced Auto Parts

8. #4 Kevin Harvick
Stewart-Haas Racing
Hunt Brothers Pizza

9. #18 Kyle Busch
Joe Gibbs Racing

10. #2 Brad Keselowski
Team Penske
Western Star

11. #48 Alex Bowman
Hendrick Motorsports

12. #10 Aric Almirola
Stewart-Haas Racing

13. #8 Tyler Reddick
Richard Childress Racing

14. #24 William Byron
Hendrick Motorsports
Liberty University

15. #1 Kurt Busch
Chip Ganassi Racing
Monster Energy

16. #34 Michael McDowell
Front Row Motorsports
Love’s Travel Stops

17. #42 Ross Chastain
Chip Ganassi Racing
Moose Fraternity

18. #3 Austin Dillon
Richard Childress Racing

19. #21 Matt DiBenedetto
Wood Brothers Racing
Menards / Dutch Boy

20. #14 Chase Briscoe
Stewart-Haas Racing
Cummins/Rush Truck Centers

21. #99 Daniel Suarez
Trackhouse Racing
Good Sam

22. #43 Erik Jones
Richard Petty Motorsports
Petty’s Garage

23. #47 Ricky Stenhouse Jr
JTG Daugherty Racing
NOS Energy Drink

24. #6 Ryan Newman
Roush Fenway Racing
Oscar Mayer Bacon

25. #17 Chris Buescher
Roush Fenway Racing

26. #41 Cole Custer
Stewart-Haas Racing

27. #37 Ryan Preece
JTG Daugherty Racing
Kroger / Crest

28. #23 Bubba Wallace
23XI Racing
Door Dash

29. #77 Justin Haley
Spire Motorsports

30. #38 Anthony Alfredo
Front Row Motorsports

31. #7 Corey LaJoie
Spire Motorsports

32. #78 BJ McLeod
Live Fast Motorsports
Keen Parts

33. #52 Josh Bilicki
Rick Ware Racing
Firetruck Scheme

34. #00 Quin Houff
Starcom Racing
Trucker Appreciation

35. #53 JJ Yeley
Rick Ware Racing
Fat Boy

36. Garrett Smithley
Rick Ware Racing

37. James Davison
Rick Ware Racing

38. David Starr
MBM Motorsports

NASCAR Cup Series trophy - Bristol Motor Speedway
BRISTOL, TENNESSEE – SEPTEMBER 19: The NASCAR Cup Series trophy sits on the grid prior to the NASCAR Cup Series Bass Pro Shops Night Race at Bristol Motor Speedway on September 19, 2020 in Bristol, Tennessee. (Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images)
NASCAR Cup Series
Point Standings

After: Richmond (Ahead of Bristol)

1. Denny Hamlin
1 Win

2. Martin Truex Jr
1 Win

3. Kyle Larson
(Locked In)

4. Joey Logano

5. Ryan Blaney

6. Kevin Harvick

7. Chase Elliott

8. Christopher Bell

9. Brad Keselowski

10. Kyle Busch

11. Aric Almirola

12. Kurt Busch

— Round of 12 Cutline —

13. Alex Bowman

14. Tyler Reddick

15. William Byron

16. Michael McDowell


Bristol Motor Speedway | NASCAR