Indy 500 Results: May 28, 2023 (Indycar Series)

INDYCAR results from the Indianapolis Motor Speedway

It’s the 107th running of the Indy 500. The Indycar Series is set for the green flag at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

View Indy 500 results below.

Indy 500 Menu
TV Schedule / Qual | Final Prac | Race

The field begins to roll on the pace laps. Graham Rahal is having issues getting his car started. The car is pushed behind the wall for a battery change.

Alex Palou, Rinus VeeKay and Felix Rosenqvist set the front row. 200 laps of open wheel racing are up next…

Indy 500

Indycar Series - Indianapolis Motor Speedway - By_ Karl Zemlin
Indycar Series – Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Photo: Karl Zemlin)

Green flag, Palou is clear into turn one.

Lap 3, VeeKay has a run into turn one. He looks inside, clear, VeeKay leads.

Lap 5, Palou back to the lead.

Lap 11, VeeKay takes the lead into turn one. The leaders are swapping the lead with fuel millage in mind.

Lap 27, Dixon heads for the pit lane under green. He’s struggling with a vibration issue.

Lap 36, the first pit cycle is complete. Palou leads VeeKay as they return to the front.

Lap 41, VeeKay takes the lead away. Katherine Legge has retired her car.

Lap 48, Palou looks inside and takes the lead back away. He leads VeeKay and Rosenqvist.

Lap 70, another green flag pit cycle is complete. Pato O’Ward cycles to the race lead!

Lap 79, O’Ward hands the lead to Felix Rosenqvist. The leaders are saving fuel once more.

Lap 82, O’Ward back to the lead in turn one. RC Enerson has pulled his car to the garage.

Lap 90, Rosenqvist to the lead. The leaders are still saving fuel.

Lap 92

Lap 92, Sting Ray Robb is in the wall after getting in the marbles. Graham Rahal worked to his inside in turn one to put him on the outside. The caution is out.

Most of the field heads for the pit lane. Rosenqvist is first in and first off. Rinus VeeKay spins the tires and gets sideways leaving his box. Alex Palou is stuffed into the pit wall in the process. Callum Ilott stays out and takes over the lead.

Penalty: VeeKay will be forced to serve a drive through penalty, he’s running 7th.

Green, Rosenqvist gets the jump and he clears Ilott before turn one.

Lap 114, O’Ward pulls to the outside and takes the lead back.

Lap 115, Tony Kanaan has a run on Scott McLaughlin. McLaughlin throws a block and Kanaan takes all four wheels into the grass but still completes the pass!

Lap 129, Rosenqvist to the lead. The pace of the leaders has dropped significantly as they all save fuel. The top 10 all run nose to tail.

Colton Herta runs into teammate Romain Grosjean on the pit lane.

Lap 136, the green flag pit cycle is complete. Rosenqvist leads Marcus Ericsson and Josef Newgarden.

Lap 145, Ericsson pulls out of line and takes the lead away. Ericsson leads and he’s saving fuel with Herta just ahead of the leader, on the tail of the lead lap.

Lap 150

Lap 150, Romain Grosjean gets loose and slams the wall. The caution is out.

Ericsson stays out with the rest of the top 4. O’Ward and others head for the pit lane.

green, Newgarden pulls out of line and takes the lead away. Santino Ferrucci jumps from 5th to 3rd in turn one!

Lap 158, Ferrucci to 2nd.

Lap 159, Ferrucci has a run on Ericsson into turn one. He dives inside and Ferrucci leads for the first time today.

32 to go, Will Power brushes the wall with the right rear. He heads to the pit lane under green.

31 to go, Ferrucci pits from the race lead.

28 to go, Ericsson cycles out ahead of Ferrucci. The top 14 have yet to pit.

O’Ward runs dives inside of Ericsson for 4th and takes the spot with ease. O’Ward has 9 laps fresher tires than the rest of the leaders.

16 to go

16 to go, Felix Rosenqvist knocks the wall and spins across the track from 7th. Kyle Kirkwood comes into the scene with nowhere to go and his left rear is ripped off by Rosenqvist’s spinning machine. The tire is launched over the fence as Kirkwood is sent flipping into the fence. Both drivers are ok.

Indy 500 crash sends wheel over the track fencing (Video)

The red flag is out.

As the red is lifted, the leaders, who have yet to pit, head for the pit lane. Pato O’Ward cycles back to the lead with Marcus Ericsson in 2nd.

Green, Ericsson looks outside of O’Ward at the launch. Newgarden looks inside of both of them. Three wide fore the lead, Newgarden is clear into turn one!

8 to go

8 to go, O’Ward looks inside of Ericsson into turn three. Ericsson pinches him down and they make contact! O’Ward is sent spinning across the track and he slams the outside wall! Simon Pagenaud is collected.

The red flag is back out.

Green, they form three wide for the lead! Marco Andretti, Ed Carpenter, Benjamin Pedersen and Graham Rahal tangle behind them.

3 to go, the red flag is back out.

Green and White flags fly - Indycar Series - Indianapolis Motor Speedway - By_ Walt Kuhn
Green and White flags fly – Indycar Series – Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Photo: Walt Kuhn)

Green with just 1 lap to go, Ericsson leads Newgarden into turn one.

Newgarden has a run off turn two. He looks to the outside and he’s clear into turn one. Newgarden to the lead.

Josef Newgarden wins the Indy 500!

Indy 500 Results
May 28, 2023
Indycar Series

Twin checkered flags for Josef Newgarden - Indycar Series - Indianapolis Motor Speedway - By_ Walt Kuhn
Twin checkered flags for Josef Newgarden – Indycar Series – Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Photo: Walt Kuhn)

Pos | Driver

1. Josef Newgarden

2. Marcus Ericsson

3. Santino Ferrucci

4. Alex Palou

5. Alexander Rossi

6. Scott Dixon

7. Takuma Sato

8. Conor Daly

9. Colton Herta

10. Rinus VeeKay

11. Ryan Hunter-Reay

12. Callum Ilott

13. Devlin DeFrancesco

14. Scott McLaughlin

15. Helio Castroneves

16. Tony Kanaan

17. Marco Andretti

18. Jack Harvey

19. Christian Lundgaard

20. Ed Carpenter

21. Benjamin Pedersen

22. Graham Rahal

23. Will Power

24. Pato O’Ward

25. Simon Pagenaud

26. Agustin Canapino

27. Felix Rosenqvist

28. Kyle Kirkwood

29. David Malukas

30. Romain Grosjean

31. Sting Ray Robb

32. RC Enerson

33. Katherine Legge

Point Standings
Josef Newgarden and wife_ Ashley_ with a selfie on the Yard of Bricks - 107th Running of the Indianapolis 500 Presented By Gainbridge - By_ Walt Kuhn_LargeImageWithoutWatermark_m82843 (1)
Josef Newgarden and wife_ Ashley_ with a selfie on the Yard of Bricks – 107th Running of the Indianapolis 500 Presented By Gainbridge (Photo: Walt Kuhn)

Pos | Driver | Points

1. Alex Palou

2. Marcus Ericsson

3. Pato O’Ward

4. Josef Newgarden

5. Scott Dixon

6. Scott McLaughlin

7. Alexander Rossi

8. Romain Grosjean

9. Will Power

10. Colton Herta

11. Christian Lundgaard

12. Kyle Kirkwood

13. Felix Rosenqvist

14. Callum Ilott

15. Santino Ferrucci

16. Rinus VeeKay

17. Graham Rahal

18. David Malukas

19. Marcus Armstrong

20. Conor Daly

21. Helio Castroneves

22. Jack Harvey

23. Devlin DeFrancesco

24. Agustin Canapino

25. Simon Pagenaud

26. Benjamin Pedersen

27. Sting Ray Robb

28. Takumo Sato

29. Ed Carpenter

30. Ryan Hunter-Reay

31. Tony Kanaan

32. Marco Andretti

33. RC Enerson

34. Katherine Legge

Indy 500 Payout: How much money did the Indycar winner make?

Indianapolis 500
Video Highlights
May 28, 2023

Indianapolis Motor Speedway | Indycar