Indianapolis Results: August 12, 2023 (NASCAR Xfinity Series)

NASCAR Xfinity Series race results from the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course

Next up, the NASCAR Xfinity Series takes the stage in Indianapolis, Indiana. It’s the Pennzoil 150 on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course.

View Indianapolis results for the NASCAR Xfinity Series below.

Indianapolis Menu
INDYCAR: Prac / Qual | Race
ARCA: Prac / Qual | Race
Truck: Prac / Qual | Race
Xfinity: Prac / Qual | Race
Cup: Prac / Qual | Race

Indianapolis TV Schedule

AJ Allmendinger and Ty Gibbs set the front row. 62 laps of stock car racing are up next…

Indianapolis Xfinity
Stage 1 – Report

Laps: 20 (1-20 / 62)

Green flag, Allmendinger gets the jump. Gibbs has a look on the outside under braking into turn one. Gibbs crosses under Allmendinger out of turn one but Allmendinger wins the race into turn three.

Lap 3, Gibbs dives inside of Allmendinger into turn one. Gibbs clears him and takes the lead away.

Lap 7, caution for lightning.

An hour later, the race is set to resume. Sam Mayer and AJ Allmendinger have installed slick tires. The rest of the field is on wet weather tires.

Green, Gibbs leads Custer into turn one.

Lap 12, Ross Chastain gets turned by Connor Mosack, no caution.

Lap 13, Gibbs leads. Allmendinger runs 30th, 27 seconds back but the first car on slick tires.

Lap 14, Gibbs and Custer hit the pit lane for slick tires.

2 to go in stage one, Allmendinger is up to 3rd. He trails the leader by 4 seconds. He closes that gap in a hurry and drives right by Hemric to take the lead.

The gamble to put on slicks first has paid off. AJ Allmendinger wins stage one on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course!

Indianapolis Results (Stage 1) : 1. AJ Allmendinger; 2. Sam Mayer; 3. Daniel Hemric; 4. Parker Kligerman; 5. Justin Allgaier; 6. Ty Gibbs; 7. Parker Retzlaff; 8. Chandler Smith; 9. Josh Berry; 10. Cole Custer

Indianapolis Xfinity
Stage 2 – Report

Laps: 20 (21-40 / 62)

The rest of the field on wet tires dive for the pit lane. Kligerman exits the pit lane with a flat tire. He returns to make a second pit stop.

Lap 25, Allmendinger leads Mayer by 6.5 seconds.

Lap 27, Brad Perez is up in smoke and the caution is out.

Allgaier pits from the race lead with most of the field. Sam Mayer and Cole Custer take over the front row.

Green, Mayer and Custer rub doors into turn one. Mayer wins the race to turn three.

Lap 32, Allmendinger works inside of Custer to take 2nd away.

Lap 34, Allmendinger dives inside of Mayer for the lead into turn one. They run side by side in turn two and Allmendimger finally completes the pass into turn three.

Lap 36, Justin Allgaier shoves Cole Custer in the grass and Custer spins, no caution.

3 to go in stage two, Daniel Hemric spins under braking into turn one. Nemechek clips him after the spin and collects right front damage.

AJ Allmendinger wins stage two at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway!

Indianapolis Results (Stage 2) : 1. AJ Allmendinger; 2. Ty Gibbs; 3. Sam Mayer; 4. Sheldon Creed; 5. Riley Herbst; 6. Austin Hill; 7. Chandler Smith; 8. John Hunter Nemechek; 9. Daniel Hemric; 10. Jeremy Clements;

Indianapolis Xfinity
Stage 3 – Report

Laps: 22 (41-62 / 62)

Pit Penalty: John Hunter Nemechek has been caught speeding on the pit lane and he’ll serve a pass-through penalty.

Lap 43, Allmendinger and Gibbs hit the pit lane. Slow stop for Allmendinger and Gibbs wins the race to the pit exit!

Lap 44, caution as Andre Castro is stalled on the track. Many cars have yet to pit as this is in the middle of a green flag pit cycle.

Penalty: Sheldon Creed will drop to the rear for entering a closed pit.

The rest of the field dives to the pits. Gibbs and Allmendinger cycle back to the front row.

Green, Allmendinger looks inside of Gibbs into turn one but he can’t complete the pass. Brandon Jones gets turned behind them, no caution. Connor Mosack drives through Chandler Smith and Daniel Hemric but they all continue.

12 to go

12 to go, Jeb Burton locks up under braking into turn 7 and he turns Ryan Sieg. No caution as they both continue.

10 to go, Gibbs leads Allmendinger by 3 seconds.

7 to go, Blaine Perkins bangs wheels with Ryan Ellis. Perkins picks up a flat tire and he’s off in the grass, no caution.

5 to go, Kaz Grala runs wide and into the turn one grass. As he rejoins the track, he clips Nemechek in the left rear. Nemechek is around, no caution.

2 to go, Allmendinger misses the corner. Sam Mayer works under him and takes 2nd away.

Ty Gibbs drives off to take the win on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course!

Indianapolis Road Course Results
August 12, 2023
NASCAR Xfinity Series

Ty Gibbs - Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course - NASCAR Xfinity Series - Pennzoil 150 at the Brickyard Presented By Advance Auto Parts (Photo: Walt Kuhn)
Ty Gibbs – Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course – NASCAR Xfinity Series – Pennzoil 150 at the Brickyard Presented By Advance Auto Parts (Photo: Walt Kuhn)

Pos | Driver

1. Ty Gibbs

2. Sam Mayer

3. AJ Allmendinger

4. Austin Hill

5. Justin Allgaier

6. Cole Custer

7. Parker Kligerman

8. Sheldon Creed

9. Kaz Grala

10. Brett Moffitt

11. Alex Labbe

12. Riley Herbst

13. John Hunter Nemechek

14. Josh Berry

15. Sage Karam

16. Jeb Burton

17. Parker Retzlaff

18. Josh Bilicki

19. Jeremy Clements

20. Kyle Weatherman

21. Brandon Jones

22. Miguel Paludo

23. Anthony Alfredo

24. Preston Pardus

25. Brennan Poole

26. Connor Mosack

27. Daniel Hemric

28. Sammy Smith

29. Ryan Ellis

30. Kyle Sieg

31. Blaine Perkins

32. Ryan Sieg

33. Josh Williams

34. Chandler Smith

35. Joe Graf Jr

36. Andre Castro

37. Ross Chastain

38. Brad Perez

NASCAR Xfinity Series
Point Standings
Ty Gibbs in victory lane at Indianapolis Motor Speedway - NASCAR Xfinity Series - James Black (1)
Ty Gibbs in victory lane at Indianapolis Motor Speedway – NASCAR Xfinity Series (Photo: James Black)


Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Video Highlights
August 12, 2023

Indianapolis Raceway Park | NASCAR