2016 NASCAR Superlatives – The Results

2016 NASCAR.com Superlatives

The results of the 2016 NASCAR Superlatives are posted below.

The award list is as follow; Confrontation of the Year, Rule Change of the Year, Disappointing Driver of the Year, Surprise Driver of the Year, Comeback Driver of the Year, Crew Chief of the Year, Team of the Year, Moment of the Year, Race of the Year, Engine Builder of the Year, Manufacturer of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Driver of the Year.


2016 Confrontation of the Year

Confrontation of the year: Cole Custer vs. John Hunter Nemechek
Honorable mention: John Wes Townley vs. Spencer Gallagher; Austin Dillon vs. Kevin Harvick

RELATED: Cole Custer vs John Hunter Nemechek – Canadian Tire Motorsports Park (Video)


2016 Rule Change of the Year

Rule change of the year: New regulations concerning lug nuts
Honorable mention: Chase for the XFINITY Series and Camping World Truck Series; Caution Clock for the Camping World Truck Series


2016 Disappointing Driver of the Year

Disappointing driver of the year: Kasey Kahne
Honorable mention: Aric Almirola, Paul Menard and Clint Bowyer


2016 Surprise Driver of the Year

Surprise driver of the year: William Byron
Honorable mention: Chase Elliott and Chris Buescher


2016 Comeback Driver of the Year

Comeback driver of the year: Tony Stewart
Honorable mention: Matt Tifft


2016 Crew Chief of the Year

Crew chief of the year: Chad Knaus
Honorable mention: Adam Stevens, Chris Gayle, Scott Graves and Cole Pearn


2016 Team of the Year

Team of the year: Joe Gibbs Racing
Honorable mention: Furniture Row Racing and Team Penske


2016 Moment of the Year

Moment of the year: Jimmie Johnson winning his record-tying seventh championship
Honorable mention: Tony Stewart’s Sonoma win; Martin Truex Jr.’s Coca-Cola 600 dominance with girlfriend Sherry Pollex in Victory Lane


2016 Race of the Year

Race of the year: Auto Club 400 at Auto Club Speedway
Honorable mention: Daytona 500, Dover in May and Sonoma


2016 Engine Builder of the Year

Engine builder of the year: Toyota Racing Development
Honorable mention: Hendrick Motorsports engines


2016 Manufacturer of the Year

Manufacturer of the year: Toyota
Honorable mention: Chevrolet

Related: Toyota Could Make Stock Car Racing History


2016 Rookie of the Year

Rookie of the year: Chase Elliott
Honorable mention: Ryan Blaney, Chris Buescher, William Byron and Erik Jones


2016 Driver of the Year

Driver of the year: Martin Truex Jr.
Honorable mention: Jimmie Johnson


Photo Credit: NASCAR via Getty Images