Bristol Dirt Starting Lineup: April 2022 (NASCAR Cup Series)

NASCAR heat races results; Starting grid for the Bristol Motor Speedway Dirt Track

Today, the NASCAR Cup Series takes to the Bristol Motor Speedway dirt track. Four heat races are on deck to set the field for Sunday’s race.

View the Bristol Dirt heat race results for the NASCAR Cup Series below.

Bristol Dirt Menu
Truck: Prac | Heat Lineups | Heats / Feature Lineup | Feature
Cup: Prac | Prac Avg |  Heat Lineups | Heats / Feature Lineup | Feature

View the Bristol Dirt TV Schedule

Bristol Dirt Format

-There will be four heat races in the Cup Series and Truck Series. Each heat race is 15 laps in distance with the starting lineup of the heats set by owner points and a random draw.

-Passing points are in play for the heat races. For every position gained from the start of the race, drivers earn 1 additional point. The top 10 at the end of each heat are given points with the race winner earning 10 and 10th earning 1.

-The driver with the most points after the heats will be awarded the pole award for the feature event. Tie-breakers are set via owner points.

Heat 1
Race Report

Laps: 15

Todd Gilliland and Ross Chastain trail the pace truck.

Green flag, Ross Chastain noses ahead on the outside into turn one. Reddick follows him through from row two and takes over 2nd.

Lap 3, Reddick is all over the bumper of Chastain as they battle for the lead. He looks to the outside off turn four. They run side by side and fight for space into turn one. Reddick clears him on the outside lane, Reddick leads.

Lap 9, Ryan Blaney spins on his own and the caution is out.

Green, Reddick gets the jump as Chastain spins the tires. Chastain drops from 2nd to 4th. Cole Custer to 2nd after starting last in this race!

Ross Chastain spins on the final lap, no caution.

Tyler Reddick wins heat 1 at Bristol Motor Speedway!

Heat 1 Race Results (Heat Points Earned) : 1. Tyler Reddick (13); 2. Cole Custer (16); 3. Alex Bowman (10); 4. Brad Keselowski (7); 5. Todd Gilliland (6); 6. Ryan Blaney (5); 7. Corey LaJoie (5); 8. Martin Truex Jr (3); 9. Ross Chastain (2);

Heat 2
Race Report

Laps: 15

Kevin Harvick and Kyle Busch set the front row for heat 2.

Green flag, Harvick heads for the bottom in turn one but he washes up the banking and lifts. Kyle Busch is on the gas and he clears him off turn two.

Lap 4, Christopher Bell works inside of Harvick and he takes 2nd away. Briscoe diamonds the corner and follows him through to take 3rd. Daniel Suarez spins behind them, caution.

Green, Bell and Busch run side by side for the lead. Bell works the bottom but Busch is on defense on the top.

Lap 8, Bell is all over the bumper of Busch for the lead. He enters high and tries to cut down the track to get under him on corner exit.

Lap 9, Busch bobbles in turn two. Bell was already turning down the hill. As Busch lifts, Bell takes the lead.

Christopher Bell wins at Bristol Motor Speedway!

Heat 2 Race Results (Heat Points Earned) : 1. Christopher Bell (14); 2. Kyle Busch (9); 3. Chase Briscoe (12); 4. Michael McDowell (7); 5. Erik Jones (9); 6. Justin Allgaier (6); 7. Daniel Suarez (6); 8. Kevin Harvick (3); 9. Josh Williams (2);

Heat 3
Race Report

Laps: 15

Joey Logano and Justin Haley pace the field.

Green flag, they run side by side into turn one. Haley holds him off via the outside lane off turn two.

Lap 7, Bubba Wallace slides JJ Yeley for 5th. He’s not clear, light contact and Wallace takes 5th away.

Lap 9, Dillon dives to the inside of Wallace. He runs wide and they make contact but Wallace holds him off.

1 to go, Dillon slides Wallace for 5th. He clears him and takes the spot.

Justin Haley drives off to win heat 3!

Heat 3 Race Results (Heat Points Earned) : 1. Justin Haley (11); 2. Joey Logano (9); 3. Chris Buescher (9); 4. Kurt Busch (9); 5. Austin Dillon (9); 6. Bubba Wallace (6); 7. JJ Yeley (4); 8. Noah Gragson (4); 9. Denny Hamlin (2);

Heat 4
Race Report

Laps: 15

Ty Dillon and Chase Elliott lead them to the line.

Green flag, Jones leads Elliott off turn two.

Lap 2, Larson slides Byron for 4th.

Lap 9, Ricky Stenhouse Jr bobbles and Kyle Larson works to his outside. Larson to 3rd.

3 to go, Elliott is all over the bumper of Ty Dillon for the lead. Larson has caught both of them, three car battle for the win.

1 to go, Dillon opens the gap as Elliott is on defense.

Ty Dillon wins the final heat race at Bristol Motor Speedway!

Heat 4 Race Results (Heat Points Earned) : 1. Ty Dillon (11); 2. Chase Elliott (9); 3. Kyle Larson (11); 4. Ricky Stenhouse Jr (8); 5. William Byron (6); 6. Austin Cindric (6); 7. Harrison Burton (6); 8. Aric Almirola (3); 9. Cody Ware (2);

Bristol Dirt
Starting Lineup
NASCAR Cup Series
April 17, 2022

Pos | Driver | Heat Points

1. Cole Custer

2. Christopher Bell

3. Tyler Reddick

4. Chase Briscoe

5. Kyle Larson

6. Justin Haley

7. Ty Dillon

8. Alex Bowman

9. Chase Elliott

10. Joey Logano

11. Kyle Busch

12. Austin Dillon

13. Kurt Busch

14. Erik Jones

15. Chris Buescher

16. Ricky Stenhouse Jr

17. Michael McDowell

18. Brad Keselowski

19. William Byron

20. Austin Cindric

21. Daniel Suarez

22. Bubba Wallace

23. Todd Gilliland

24. Harrison Burton

25. Ryan Blaney

26. Corey LaJoie

27. Justin Allgaier

28. Noah Gragson

29. JJ Yeley

30. Martin Truex Jr

31. Aric Almirola

32. Kevin Harvick

33. Ross Chastain

34. Denny Hamlin

35. Cody Ware

36. Josh Williams

Bristol Dirt TV Schedule


Bristol Motor Speedway | NASCAR